1 (800) 308-4358
Mon-Fri 7am-7pm CST
Closing 4:00pm CST Dec 2
  1. 1. Choose A State
  2. 2. Choose A Bond
  3. 3. Enter Your Contact Info
  4. 4. Receive Your Free Quote

Virginia Passenger Carrier and Passenger Broker Bond

How much does a passenger carrier bond cost in Virginia?

The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles requires passenger carriers and passenger brokers to post $25,000 surety bonds prior to conducting business.

SuretyBonds.com issues Virginia passenger carrier and passenger broker bonds instantly with no credit check required for just $250! Get your bond today!

Bond Type Bond Amount Cost*
$25,000 Passenger Carrier and Passenger Broker Bond $25,000 $250 Buy Now!
*The bond premium rate quotes provided to you through this website are for pricing comparisons and quotation estimate purposes only. The bond rate quotes provided are based on general assumptions that may or may not be applicable to you and are subject to change at any time. These rate quotes do not constitute an offer of insurance, nor is any contract, agreement, or bond coverage implied, formed or bound by the provision of rate quotes. Bondability, final bond premium rate quotes and an offer of insurance, if any, will be determined by the insurance company providing your bond. You must contact us directly to obtain a quote for binding purposes.

To purchase this bond, call 1 (800) 308-4358 or click here to connect with our team of surety bond experts.

Why do I need this bond?

By posting Virginia passenger carrier and passenger broker surety bonds, principals (carriers and brokers) pledge to comply with the provisions of Chapter 20 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia. Specifically, these bonds protect any person who suffers financial loss as a result of a principal’s violations of these terms, acts of fraud or unlawful behavior while on the job.

Transportation brokers cannot perform the actual transportation of passengers.

The surety bond will initially cover all damages suffered by a person up to the full penal sum of the bond, but the principal must reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.

Our experts make purchasing the Virginia surety bond you need fast and easy. Get your bond now!

What’s the fine print?

Passenger carrier and broker bonds in Virginia remain in full force and effect until canceled. The bond does not automatically expire with the principal’s license, but continues from term to term for a period of 3 consecutive years from the effective date listed on the bond form. The surety can cancel this bond at any time by giving written notice of cancellation to the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles. Cancellation becomes effective 60 days after the commissioner receives the notice.

How to become a passenger carrier in Virginia

To become licensed as a transportation of passengers broker in Virginia, applicants must:

  • post a $25,000 surety bond
  • pay the $50 filing fee
  • pay $3 for a duplicate license, if applicable
  • report any and all new addresses to the DMV’s Motor Carrier Services within 30 days
  • notify the DMV in writing within 30 days if the applicant goes out of business/stops providing the authorized service

To become licensed as a passenger carrier in Virginia, applicants must:

  • meet the bodily and property damage insurance requirements
  • post a $25,000 surety bond
  • meet the registration and license plate requirements
  • pay the $50 filing fee
  • pay the $3 Operating Authority Registration fee per vehicle
  • pay $3 for a duplicate license, if applicable
    • report any and all new addresses to the DMV’s Motor Carrier Services within 30 days
  • notify the DMV in writing within 30 days if the applicant goes out of business/stops providing the authorized service

Take the first step toward becoming licensed in Virginia by purchasing your passenger carrier/broker bond!

Ready to get started?

Get my Passenger Carrier Broker Bond Today!

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Passenger Carrier and Passenger Broker Bond Form

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Transportation of Passengers Broker

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Contract Passenger Carrier

Code of Virginia 46.2-2011.9. Bond and Letter of Credit Requirements

Code of Virginia Title 46.2, Chapter 20: Regulation of Passenger Carriers

Overnight Shipping
50,000 Satisfied
Customers Nationwide
No Hidden Fees