How much does a wine supplier or distributor bond cost in West Virginia?
The West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Administration requires wine distributors and wine suppliers to post $10,000 surety bonds.
SuretyBonds.com issues these bonds instantly for just $100. There’s no credit check required, so everyone qualifies for the same low rate. Get bonded now!
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost|
|$10,000 Wine Distributor Bond||$10,000||$120|
|$10,000 Wine Supplier Bond||$10,000||$120|
5 minutes and $100 is all it takes to get bonded when you work with the experts at SuretyBonds.com! Click here or call 1 (800) 308-4358 to get started!
Why do I need this bond?
West Virginia wine supplier bonds and wine distributor bonds are put in place to ensure that principals (distributors and suppliers) comply with the laws of the state and with the rules and regulations set by the Commissioner when conducting business dealing with the distribution and sale of wine. These laws include the payment of all taxes and fees prescribed by Article 8, Chapter 60 of the Code of West Virginia.
If the principal fails to comply with these terms, the bond protects the state from any resulting financial loss up to the full amount of the bond.
What’s the fine print?
Wine supplier and distributor bonds in West Virginia expire annually on June 30, so your bond premium could be prorated depending on when you buy it. Our team of surety experts works hard to get you bonded according to your specific needs. All bonds filed before July of each year should show July 1 as the effective date. For bonds filed after July 1, the effective date should be the same date the bond is executed and signed.
Principals must indicate on the bond form whether the business entity type is an individual, partnership, corporation, LLC or LLP. The surety bond form must be notarized by a commissioned notary public.
Wine supplier surety bonds and wine distributor surety bonds are issued on separate bond forms.
How to become a wine supplier or distributor in West Virginia
Wine supplier and wine distributor bonds are required for nonretail liquor and wine licenses. Distilleries, mini distilleries, farm wineries, multi capacities and wine shippers are also included on this license, but are not required to post a surety bond.
The license fee for a wine supplier license is $150, and the license fee for a wine distributor license is $2,500.
Complete licensing information can be accessed from the Additional Resources section of this page.
Ready to get started?