SuretyBonds.com has developed this comprehensive licensing guide to explain how to get licensed as a public adjuster in Florida. Follow this Florida Public Adjuster License Guide to understand Florida Department of Financial Services registration requirements. This Florida Public Adjuster Licensing Guide was updated on 9/30/2022.
Hurricane season brings about a time of uncertainty regarding financial and physical safety. Unfortunately, those in Florida know firsthand that a powerful storm can cause catastrophic property damage. Once the hurricane is over, the process of damage assessment and clean-up begins. Public adjusters are invaluable allies when it’s time to assess the damage and rebuild.
Florida defines public adjusters as:
“any person, except a duly licensed attorney at law as exempted under s. 626.860, who, for money, commission, or any other thing of value, prepares, completes, or files an insurance claim form for an insured or third-party claimant or who, for money, commission, or any other thing of value, acts on behalf of, or aids an insured or third-party claimant in negotiating for or effecting the settlement of a claim or claims for loss or damage covered by an insurance contract or who advertises for employment as an adjuster of such claims. The term also includes any person who, for money, commission, or any other thing of value, solicits, investigates, or adjusts such claims on behalf of a public adjuster.”
Public adjusters are not associated with any particular insurance company but rather are hired by insured individuals to help with all aspects of the claims process.
Unlike public adjusters, independent adjusters represent insurance companies and do not work on behalf of individual policyholders. Independent adjusters focus on the best interests of the company they represent rather than policyholders, which is why public adjusters are so important to the general public when disaster strikes.
How do I become a licensed Florida public adjuster?
Public adjusters who work in Florida must provide a number of materials when applying for a Florida public adjuster license. Individuals looking to work as a public adjuster in Florida must complete the following steps to become legally licensed before handling insurance claims.
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements.
To be eligible for a Florida public adjuster license, you must be at least 18 years old and a United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services.
The Division of Insurance Agent and Agency Services – Bureau of Licensing enforces and manages two different public adjuster license types.
- Resident Public Adjuster License for Florida residents who maintain a principal place of business in the state
- Non-Resident Public Adjuster License for non-residents who maintain a principal place of business in the state
Step 2: File a public adjuster surety bond.
Purchase a $50,000 Florida Public Adjuster Surety Bond and file it with the Department. SuretyBonds.com offers Florida Public Adjuster Bonds for $500 with instant document delivery 24/7 without any credit check or underwriting. Once payment is processed, your official bond will be delivered in minutes by email. Once you’ve received your bond, you’ll file it by mailing it to the Bureau of Licensing at the following address:
Department of Financial Services
Bureau of Licensing, Room 419
200 East Gaines St.
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319
Step 3: Submit an application.
Next, complete and submit an online application. This step includes payment of a $50 application fee and a $5 license ID fee. You’ll create a MyProfile account on the Department’s website and use your account not only to apply, but also to view and print your license, examine deficiencies on a pending application, learn about continuing education information, make an address change, and more.
Step 4: Submit fingerprints.
Fingerprinting is a mandatory requirement for obtaining a Florida public adjuster license. Submit your fingerprints through IdentoGO by Idemia. You can use LiveScan to submit electronically or use fingerprint cards to submit by mail. By submitting fingerprints, you are consenting to a criminal history background check as part of the licensing process. Submitting fingerprints comes with a fee of $48.05.
Step 5: Pass the Florida public adjuster exam.
Upon approval of your application, you’ll receive instructions from the Department about scheduling your exam. Visit PearsonVUE’s website for a list of test centers that allow you to schedule your examination date and time. Note that a $44 examination fee is due upon scheduling. The exam contains 85 scored questions, plus 15 pre-test questions, with a time limit of two hours. The exam content can be found in the examination outline.
Once you’ve passed the exam, an email will direct you to your MyProfile account, where you can print out your license. If you’ve already passed an exam prior to licensure, you have one year from the passing date to apply for a license. (Disregard this step if you are not required to take an exam.)
Watch the video below for a summary of the steps involved in the Florida public adjuster licensing process.
How much does it cost to apply for a license?
There are several fees associated with obtaining a Florida public adjuster license:
- $50 application fee
- $5 license ID fee
- $48.05 fingerprint fee
- $44 state examination fee
- $60 appointment fee
- $250 education fee (continuing education requirement: 24 hours due biennially by end of licensee’s birth month)
The cost of a Florida public adjuster bond is $500 for $50,000 of coverage, meaning the total cost to get licensed as a public adjuster in Florida is $957.05. However, applicants may be exempt from the $50 application fee if they or their spouse are members of the United States Armed Forces or if they have retired from the military within the past 24 months.
Where should the license application be submitted?
Applicants will submit their Florida public adjuster license applications through the Department of Financial Services’ Bureau of Licensing online portal.
Once all the requirements have been satisfied, the Department will send your approval via email. You are free to print copies of your license as you wish.
How do I get a public adjuster surety bond in Florida?
You can purchase a Florida Public Adjuster Bond online 24/7. Once your payment has been processed, you’ll receive your official public adjuster bond documentation to your email inbox instantly. If you’d like more information about Florida Public Adjuster Bonds or have any questions at this time, you can email [email protected] or call 1(800)308-4358 to speak with a friendly bond expert.
Founded in 2009, SuretyBonds.com has streamlined the direct-to-consumer bonding experience by providing efficient, innovative, and informed surety bond solutions nationwide. SuretyBonds.com encourages its clients, employees, and industry colleagues to Grow Through Education every day.