How to get a Florida Bonded Title
This Florida bonded title guide is for informational purposes only. SuretyBonds.com does not regulate or manage vehicle registration in Florida. Contact the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for the state’s latest official vehicle bonded title requirements.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles enforces registration requirements for vehicles with lost, stolen, or missing titles.
A certificate of title in either electronic or paper form is the proof of ownership of a vehicle, mobile home, or vessel in the state of Florida. Most vehicles, mobile homes, or vessels are required to be titled, with the exception of mopeds, motorized bicycles, and trailers weighing less than 2,000 pounds.
You must apply for a title in your name when you purchase a vehicle, mobile home, or vessel; bring a vehicle, mobile home, or vessel into Florida from another state or country; or if the ownership of a vehicle, mobile home, or vessel changes.
How do I get a bonded title in Florida?
Step 1: Get your vehicle inspected to complete your Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification Form.
You must start by filling out part A of the Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification (Form HSMV 82042).
Before you complete part B of the form, you must get your vehicle inspected by one of the following.
- licensed auto dealer
- police officer
- tax collector
- DHSMV employee
The person who completed the inspection must complete part B of Form 82042.
Step 2: Purchase your Florida certificate of title bond in the required amount.
Florida Statute 319.23(7) requires individuals who own a vehicle with a lost or stolen title file a surety bond to verify ownership as part of the vehicle registration process.
The amount of your bond should be equal to twice the appraised value of the vehicle established by the Kelley Blue Book valuation guide. If you need help determining your surety bond amount, contact the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles before purchasing your certificate of title surety bond.
You can buy your Florida certificate of title bond online 24/7. You premium will be based on your vehicle value and bond amount. Premiums for the state-required 3-year term start at $100.
Note: Florida does not issue bonded titles for vessels, mobile homes, recreational vehicles, or off-highway vehicles. If you need a title for these purchases, refer to Form 82040.
Step 3: Complete your title application and affidavit.
You must complete the application for certificate of title with/without registration (Form 82040) as well as the affidavit to accompany application for bonded title (Form 82026).
The affidavit must meet the following requirements.
- Be in a form prescribed by the department
- Include the facts and circumstances under which the applicant acquired ownership and possession of the motor vehicle
- Disclose that no security interests, liens, or encumbrances against the motor vehicle are known to the applicant against the motor vehicle
- State that the applicant has the right to have a certificate of title issued
Step 4: Pay all required motor vehicle title fees.
A full list of the fees required for Florida bonded titles can be found on the FLHSMV website.
Step 5: Submit your application packet to your nearest tax collector's office location.
You must submit all completed documents, including your certificate of title bond and affidavit, to your local tax collector's office location. You should direct any questions you have about your bonded title application or issued bonded title to your local tax collector.
Note: Your processing time will vary based on your county office.
When do I need to renew my Florida bonded title?
Your Florida bonded title will expire 3 years from its effective date and won't need to be renewed.
Last Updated: August 28, 2023