generic bond icon

Florida Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond

Select Bond For Price


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

What is the cost of a Florida motor vehicle dealer bond?

Florida motor vehicle dealer bond costs start at $225 annually. Your exact premium will be provided after a quick application review. State law requires these bonds expire annually on April 30th or December 31st depending on your license type, so your personal premium will be based on when you purchase your bond.

How do you apply for a Florida car dealer bond or motor vehicle dealer bond?

You can apply for your free Florida auto dealer bond quote online 24/7. Simply select which licensed dealer bond type you need and provide the following information for Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles approval.

  • dealer or dealership name
  • dealer or dealership address 
  • dealer license number, if available

Once you've paid your invoice, your official Florida auto dealer bond documents will be delivered by mail. 

How fast can I get an auto dealer bond?

Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to offer free quotes and deliver official Florida auto dealer bonds faster than any other surety provider. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically processed with same-day emailed bond delivery.

If you have questions about Florida auto dealer bonds or your application, call 1(800)308-4358 to speak with a friendly surety expert. We're here to guide you through the Florida dealer bond process so you can get back to running your business.

Bond Type
$25,000Independent (Used) Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
$25,000Franchise (New) Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond

What is a Florida motor vehicle dealer bond?

Florida Statutes 320.27 requires individuals file a $25,000 surety bond as part of the state's motor vehicle dealer license application process. An “Independent Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond” is required for those licensed to sell used vehicles, and a “Franchise Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond” is required for those licensed to sell new vehicles. The bond form specifically requires that auto dealers comply with Florida statutes and fulfill written contracts when selling or exchanging vehicles. 

Why do you need a Florida motor vehicle dealer surety bond? 

By filing this bond, individuals agree to comply with Florida Statute Chapter 319 and 320 when operating their dealerships. If they fail to do so and a valid claim is made against their bond, the issuing surety company will pay damages up to the full bond amount, which the bonded dealer must then reimburse.

Watch the video below to learn more about the Florida auto dealer bonding process.

What parties are involved in a Florida motor vehicle dealer bond?

As the “obligee,” the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) requires individuals file a surety bond to get an auto dealer license. As the “principal,” the auto dealer purchases and files the bond as a guarantee they'll operate according to any applicable Florida statute that regulates dealer services. As the "surety," the insurance company issues the Florida dealer bond and backs the licensed dealer's guarantee to fulfill their obligations according to Florida law. 

Please note this page is for vehicle dealer licensing. A separate Florida mobile home bond is required for those who sell, install, or manufacture mobile homes. If you need to register a vehicle with a missing title, you'll need a Florida certificate of title bond.

What types of car dealer or motor vehicle dealer licenses exist in Florida?

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles enforces all licensing requirements for the state's auto dealers. 

  • Dealers who sell used vehicles need an independent motor vehicle dealer license.
  • Dealers who sell new vehicles need a franchised motor vehicle dealer license.

What is the amount of the Florida motor vehicle dealer bond?

The Florida HSMV requires a $25,000 surety bond amount for both independent and franchised dealers.

How do I update my auto dealer bond form?

If the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your Florida surety bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. 

The most common changes for these bonds include updating the dealer or dealership's name or address.

When do you need to renew your Florida auto dealer bond?

Your Florida auto dealer bond must be renewed whenever the current term expires. The independent motor vehicle dealer bond for dealers who sell used vehicles expires annually on April 30th. The franchised motor vehicle dealer bond for dealers who sell new vehicles expires annually on December 31st. 

Once you pay your renewal invoice, instructions will be emailed to you to keep your bond active for your next license term. 

How do you get your car dealer license in Florida? 

Learn How To Get A Florida Motor Vehicle Dealer License by reviewing our comprehensive guide.

  1. Review the Florida Administrative Code 15C-7.003 motor vehicle dealer license requirements.
  2. Get a sales tax number and a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN).
  3. Submit a completed Application for a License as a Motor Vehicle, Motor Home, or Recreational Vehicle Dealer.
  4. Pay the application fee.
  5. Submit proof of having Garage Liability Insurance for at least $25,000 combined single-limit liability coverage and $10,000 personal injury protection.
  6. Purchase a $25,000 Florida surety bond.
  7. Submit proof of registration with the Florida Division of Corporations.
  8. Submit a copy of a pre-licensing dealer training course completion certificate from an approved Dealer Training School.
  9. Submit electronic fingerprints from an approved registered submitter
  10. Have the business location approved by a regional office's compliance examiner/officer and pay a $200 fee for each main location.
  11. Submit the lease agreement.

All documents and forms must be submitted to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle Department for licensing consideration.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert