How to get a Texas Public Insurance Adjuster License
This Texas public insurance adjuster license guide is for informational purposes only. SuretyBonds.com does not regulate or manage licensing for public insurance adjusters in Texas. Contact the Texas Department of Insurance for the state's latest official public insurance adjuster license requirements.
Texas Statutes Section 4102.001 defines a public insurance adjuster as a person paid to "act on behalf of an insured in negotiating for or effecting the settlement of a claim or claims for loss or damage under any policy of insurance covering real or personal property."
Texas Statutes Section 4102.051 requires individuals be licensed by the state commissioner before acting as a public insurance adjuster in the state. Texas statutes specifically require completed public insurance adjuster applications be notarized and accompanied by a nonrefundable license application fee.
Complete the following steps to apply for your Texas public insurance adjuster license with the Texas Department of Insurance.
How do I get a public insurance adjuster license in Texas?
Step 1. Pass the Texas public insurance adjuster exam.
The in-person Texas public insurance adjuster exam contains 100 multiple choice questions that cover general insurance texts and forms. You can register for a time and location through PearsonVUE or by calling the Texas Department of Insurance at 1(888)754-7667. You must pay your $48 exam registration fee in advance.
*Note: If you're renewing a license that's been expired for more than 90 days but less than a year, you don't need to take the exam. You also don't need to take the exam if you have a public insurance adjuster license in good standing in another state.
Step 2. Get your fingerprints electronically documented.
Texas Administrative Code requires that you submit your fingerprints for a background check with the Texas Department of Public Safety and FBI to verify you have no criminal record at the state or federal level.
You can schedule your fingerprinting appointment with IdentoGO online or by calling them at 1(888)467-2080. You must bring a photo ID to your fingerprinting appointment along with your payment. The fingerprinting fee varies by location, and cash and checks payments are not accepted. Your fingerprints will be sent electronically to the DPS and FBI; no printed fingerprint cards will be given. Save your fingerprinting receipt for your state application submission.
*Note: You don't need to be fingerprinted if you live in Texas and previously had a public adjuster license or have already submitted your fingerprints.
Step 3. Buy your Texas public insurance adjuster surety bond.
Texas Administrative Code Section 19.705 requires all public insurance adjusters file and maintain a $10,000 surety bond for state licensure. This bond is used to cover losses resulting from a licensed public adjuster's noncompliance with Insurance Code Section 4102.105.
You can buy your Texas public insurance adjuster bond online 24/7 for $100 annually. You'll receive your official Texas public adjuster surety bond by email instantly once your payment has been processed.
Step 4. Submit your online application and pay your application fee.
To submit your Texas public insurance adjuster license application documents, you must create an online Sircon account where you'll fill out your application and pay your $50 license fee. You'll need to upload a copy of your fingerprint receipt.
How do I renew my Texas public insurance adjuster license?
The Texas Department of Insurance will send you a physical renewal notice 90 days before your license expires that will advise if you need to take a continuing education course. You must complete any continuing education courses at least 30 days before your license expires. You must pay a $50 renewal fee by check or money order to the address listed on your renewal notice. An additional $25 late fee will be charged if you fail to renew your license on time.
What are the continuing education requirements for public insurance adjusters in Texas?
To keep your Texas public insurance adjuster license in good standing, you must complete 24 of continuing education every 2 years with 3 hours dedicated to ethics and 12 dedicated to “classroom” or “classroom equivalent” courses. You can find approved courses through Sircon where you applied for your initial license. If you don't complete the required continuing education hours, you must pay a $50 fee for each hour you don't complete (maximum $500 fine).
*Note: If you've been licensed as a public adjuster in Texas for 20 consecutive years, you're exempted from continuing education requirements.
Last Updated: October 19, 2023