Alabama Heating and Air Conditioning or Refrigeration Contractor Bond
Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.
Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a $15,000 heating and air conditioning or refrigeration contractor bond cost in Alabama?
Heating and air conditioning or refrigeration contractor bonds in Alabama are issued instantly and cost $100. A multi-year discount is also available. Simply click Buy Now to purchase your bond online via our secure bond checkout. In just a few minutes, you can be on your way to getting bonded as an HVAC contractor in Alabama.
Looking to get bonded for another type of contractor license? Visit our Alabama contractor bond page for more information on what other contractors are required to be bonded.
Why do I need this bond?
The Alabama Board of Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Contractors require those wishing to become HVAC contractors to obtain a $15,000 surety bond.
Heating, air conditioning, or refrigeration contractors must obtain a bond in accordance to Chapter 440 in the Administrative Code. Contractors must take four credit hours of class every year to keep their license. The bond protects the the general public from financial loss resulting from the principal’s (contractor’s) actions up to the full amount of the bond. The surety will pay the initial claim, and the principal must reimburse the surety at a later date.
Need a surety bond for a construction project?
What’s the fine print?
Heating and air conditioning or refrigeration contractor bonds are in effect for one-year terms and must be renewed annually. The surety has the right to cancel the bond. However, the surety must give 15 days’ written notice to the principal and obligee before the cancellation takes effect.
How to become a heating and air conditioning or refrigeration contractor in Alabama
Contractors must be licensed with the Board of Heating, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration. Applicants must submit the following materials to be considered for a license:
- Completed application
- $165 certification fee
- Completion of required education
- Payment of additional applicable fees