Arkansas Contractor License Bond
Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does an Arkansas contractor license bond cost?
Arkansas contractor license bond costs start at $75 annually. Your exact cost will vary depending on the license type you need and its required bond amount. Most city and county contractor bonds cost $100 annually. Some state-required Contractors Licensing Board bonds require a quick application review to determine pricing.
How do you get an Arkansas contractor license bond?
You can purchase most Arkansas contractor license bonds online 24/7. Simply select the bond type required by your licensing authority from the dropdown above or the table below. Information requirements for your bond form depend on your licensing authority, but you typically need to provide your contractor or construction company name, physical business address, and license type for bond filing approval. Once your order is processed, your bonding confirmation will be sent to your email.
How fast can I get a contractor license bond?
SuretyBonds.com offers instant 24/7 official surety bond delivery for most Arkansas contractor bonds. If your licensing authority requires your official bond be physically issued and delivered to you, we will ship it to your preferred mailing address. Our industry-leading technology and expert customer service team allow us to offer free quotes and deliver your official Arkansas contractor bond faster than any other surety company.
If you have questions about Arkansas contractor bond requirements, call 1(800)308-4358 to speak with a friendly surety expert. We're here to guide you through the contractor bond process so you can get back to running your business.
What is an Arkansas contractor license bond?
“Arkansas contractor license bond” is a generic term that encompasses all contractor compliance bonds required for licensing by cities and counties across the state. At the state level, the Arkansas Contractors State License Board requires the following bond amounts be filed by contractors working in the state.
- Commercial Contractor License Bond: $10,000
- Residential Roofing Contractor Bond: $15,000
- Subcontractor License Bond: $10,000
- Contractor Bond in Lieu of Financial Statement for specialty, light building, mechanical, electrical, heavy highway, railroad, airport, building, municipal, and utility contractors: bond amount varies by license type
The exact name of your Arkansas surety bond form will vary depending on which licensing authority requires it.
Why are contractor bonds required?
Contractor bonds are required to protect consumers and the state from contractors and construction companies that fail to work according to local or state laws. Each form has its own specific terms for the kind of protection offered. Generally they prohibit fraud and require contractors to complete projects as agreed upon for all parties. If a bonded contractor or construction company fails to fulfill their professional obligations as required by their bond, the issuing surety company will pay valid claims up to the full bond amount, which the licensed contractor must then reimburse.
Who regulates licensing for contractors?
Regulations for your exact Arkansas contractor bond type varies depending on the licensing authority requiring it. If you're unsure which contractor bond you need or have other questions about your licensing requirements, contact the licensing authority/government agency that said you need a surety bond for contractor licensing.
The Contractors Licensing Board enforces contractor license and bond requirements at the state level. If you have questions about a state-required contractor bond, you can call the CLB at 1 (501) 372-4661 or email [email protected].
Who needs to obtain an Arkansas contractor license surety bond?
Arkansas surety bond requirements for contractor licensing vary depending on where you work and the type of construction performed. Arkansas Contractor Bond Law 17-25-401 requires contractors file a bond at the state level if they complete any construction work valued at more than $50,000. Again, the bond amount will vary depending on the type of work done (commercial, residential builder, subcontractor, etc.).
If you are a contractor in one of the cities listed below, you must file an additional bond with the city to fulfill local licensing compliance requirements. If you need a surety bond for a city not listed below, call 1 (800) 308-4358.
- Eureka Springs
- Fort Smith
- Little Rock
- North Little Rock
- Pine Buff
- West Memphis
Need a surety bond for a construction project in Arkansas?
Arkansas contractor bonds are required for licensing compliance. If you need a surety bond before you can begin work on an individual contracted project, you might need a bid bond, payment bond, performance bond, or other type of contract bond. If you work in states other than Arkansas, we also offer contractor license bonds nationwide.
Can you get an Arkansas contractors license bond with bad credit?
Yes! All local Arkansas contractor compliance bonds can be issued instantly without a credit check. This means all contractor applicants pay the same annual premium without any application underwriting required. The CLB Contractor Bond in Lieu of Financial Statement does require underwriting to determine pricing, but we're able to approve 99% of applicants regardless of their credit history.
How do I update or change my contractor license surety bond form?
If you need to update your surety bond documentation for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. The most common changes requested are the contractor/construction company's name, address, or license type.
How do I renew my Arkansas contractor bond?
You must renew your Arkansas surety bond before its current term expires to maintain your bonding status as required for your license. Once you pay your SuretyBonds.com renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be emailed to you to keep your bond active for your next license term.
How do I get a contractor license in Arkansas?
Arkansas contractor licensing requirements vary depending on where you work, the type of work you do, and the regulatory agency that issues your license. For more information on contractor license requirements, contact the regulatory agency requiring you to get a bond.
Arkadelphia Building Department: Contractor's Permit Application
Arkadelphia Ordinance No. 0-00-08
Arkansas Board of Electrical Examiners: Administrative Rules
Benton: General Information for Builders
Conway: Access for Permits, Planning & Code Enforcement
Eureka Springs: Building and Safety Department
Fort Smith: Building Safety Division
Hope: Building Services/Code Enforcement
North Little Rock: Business Licenses
Pine Bluff: Current Business License Process
Sherwood: Permits & Planning Division
Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert today.