California Bail Agent Bond

Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.


1 year term



2 year term - save $25.00!



3 year term - save $50.00!

Want your bond Friday, May 24? Buy your bond within 23 hrs 36 min and choose overnight shipping at checkout!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a $1,000 bail agent bond cost in California?

California bail agent bonds are issued instantly online and cost just $100 for a one-year term. Simply click Buy Now to visit our secure bond checkout and purchase your bond directly from our site. In just a few minutes you can be on your way to getting bonded as a California bail agent.

Bond Type
$1,000Bail Agent Bond

Why do I need this bond?

The California Producer Licensing Bureau requires bail agents to post $1,000 surety bonds to protect individuals and businesses from unethical and illegal acts performed by bail agents. If the principal breaches the terms of the bail agent bond agreement and an individual is harmed as a result, the surety will pay for all damages up to the full bond amount. The principal is required to compensate the surety for all damages paid out.

What’s the fine print?

CA bail agents bonds remain in full force and effect until canceled or upon the acceptance and filing of a new bond, whichever takes place first. The surety can cancel the bond by giving written notice of cancellation to the insurance commissioner. Cancellation becomes effective 30 days after the commissioner receives the notice.

How to become a bail agent in California

Bail agents in California must obtain a license in addition to a surety bond to legally work in the state. The following documents and fees should be included in a completed application packet:

  • Application for bail license
  • Action notice of appointment
  • Forms filing list
  • Action notice statement of employing bail agent
  • Fingerprint impressions

Individuals must also meet the following qualifications to become a bail agent:

  • Minimum 18 years of age
  • California resident
  • Complete 20 hours of approved pre-licensing education covering licensee responsibilities
  • Agree to complete 12 hours of continuing education during each two-year renewal period
  • Pass examination administered by Department of Insurance prior to license approval

The California Department of Insurance (CDI) sends email notifications to licensees whose licenses are coming up for renewal. Licensees who do not receive an email must renew their license online using the Free Application Online Renewal Service of the CDI. Bail agents must renew their licenses every two years.

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert