1 (800) 308-4358

Mon-Fri 7am-7pm CST

Choose Bond
Enter Info
Receive Quote
generic bond icon

California Contractor Disciplinary Bond

Price Varies / 1 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a California contractors disciplinary bond cost? 

California contractor's disciplinary bond costs start at $100 for the state-required 1-year term. Your exact premium will be provided after a quick application review. Apply now to get your free, personal surety bond quote! 

How do I apply for a contractor’s disciplinary surety bond in California? 

You can apply for your California contractors disciplinary bond online 24/7. You'll need to provide the following information for Contractors State License Board approval.

  • business name
  • business service address
  • contractor license number or application fee number

Once your order has been processed, you'll receive your official California surety bond documentation by email.

How long does it take to get a contractors disciplinary bond? 

Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to offer free quotes and deliver your official California contractor disciplinary bond faster than any other surety provider. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically processed with same-day emailed bond delivery.

If you have questions about California contractor bonds or your application, call 1(800)308-4358 to speak with a friendly surety expert. We're here to guide you through the construction contractor bond process so you can get back to running your business.

Bond Type
$25,000-$150,000Contractor Disciplinary Bond

What is a California contractor disciplinary bond? 

California Business and Professions Code Section 7071.8 requires California contractors to file a contractor's disciplinary bond if their contractors license has been revoked due to a Contractors License Law violation. State form 13B-3 is officially titled the "Contractor's Disciplinary Bond," and it specifically requires the bonded contractor to comply with California Business and Professions Code Chapter 9 Division 3, which is also known as the Contractors State License Law.

What is the purpose of the California contractor disciplinary bond? 

This bond is required before the CSLB will reissue or reinstate a previously suspended license. When required, contractors must file these bonds in addition to any other surety bonds required for an active contractor's license. If a contractor fails to comply with the disciplinary bond's terms, the issuing surety company will pay valid claims to harmed parties up to the full bond amount, which the bonded contractor must reimburse. 

Note that the CSLB enforces a separate $25,000 California Contractor Bond requirement for statewide contractor licensing.

Who regulates California construction contractor licensing? 

The California Contractors State License Board (CSLB) enforces contractor license requirements in the state, including the contractor's disciplinary surety bond. The board will determine your required disciplinary bond amount based on your violations. You can contact the CSLB staff by calling 1(916)255-4050 or emailing [email protected].

How do contractors file the disciplinary bond with the CSLB?

Contractors must file their disciplinary bond with the CSLB Registrar of Contractors within 90 days of the bond's effective date. 

How do you update or change your bond form? 

If the California Contractors State License Board requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes for these bonds include the updating the following. 

  • business name
  • business service address
  • contractor license number or application fee number

How do I renew my contractor's disciplinary bond? 

You must renew your California contractors disciplinary bond before the current 1-year term expires. Once you pay your SuretyBonds.com renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be emailed to keep your bond and license active with the state.

The contractors disciplinary bond is required to be on file with the Registrar for at least 2 years. However, the Registrar may require it to stay active longer in some instances. 

The surety company can cancel this bond by giving written notice of cancellation to the principal and the California Contractors State License Board at least 30 days prior to the effective cancellation date.

How to reinstate a suspended contractors license in California?

A contractor's disciplinary bond is required to be filed with the CSLB before a contractor's license will be reinstated. The bond is a condition required by the board before the release of suspension of a license. Only one disciplinary bond is required to be filed by a contractor for each license. 

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert