generic bond icon

California Home Care Employee Dishonesty Bond

Select Bond For Price
Want your bond emailed to you today? Buy your bond within 15 hrs 54 min!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a $10,000 California home care employee dishonesty bond cost?

California home care employee dishonesty surety bonds cost $125 for 1 year of coverage or $281 for 3 years of coverage. Simply click Buy Now to purchase your bond online via our secure bond checkout. In just a few minutes you can be on your way to getting your home care employee dishonesty bond.

Bond Type
$10,000Home Care Employee Dishonesty Bond (1 year)
$10,000Home Care Employee Dishonesty Bond (3 year)

Why do I need this bond?

The California Home Care Services Bureau mandates that all home care organizations who assist elderly and disabled persons with daily, nonmedical tasks must submit a $10,000 home care employee dishonesty bond to become licensed.

The Home Care Services Protection Act, or HCSCPA, was originally passed in October of 2013 with the stipulation that it would not take effect until January 1, 2016. Among other changes to more closely regulate the care of the elderly and disabled, the need for California home care employee dishonesty bonds was put in place to guarantee protection against the mishandling of client funds by home care agencies and their employees.

If it is discovered that the principal (home care aides) have engaged in the mishandling of client funds, a claim may be filed against their bond up to $10,000 to recoup financial losses. The surety will then pay to settle the claim, at which point it becomes the responsibility of the principal to repay the surety any money paid out in the settlement.

What’s the fine print?

Home care employee dishonesty bonds are issued on one-year terms and must be renewed annually for as long as the license remains active. However, pursuant to the California Code of Civil Procedure: Section 996.320, the surety may cancel the surety bond at any time during the term by providing the obligee with written notice at least 30 days prior to the cancellation date.

How to become a home care organization in California

In addition to getting a surety bond, home care organizations and their aides are subject to the following license requirements, established by Section 1, Article 6 of the HCSCPA:

  • Background checks for all home care aides
  • Five hours of entry level training, two hours of orientation, three hours of safety training, and five hours of annual competency training
  • Free of active tuberculosis
  • General and professional liability insurance of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $3,000,000 in total

Along with these requirements, home care aides must submit an application for inclusion in the California Department of Social Services’ registry.

Ready to Get Started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert