How much does a California home care employee dishonesty bond cost?
The California Home Care Services Bureau mandates that all home care organizations who assist elderly and disabled persons with daily, nonmedical tasks must submit a $10,000 home care employee dishonesty bond in order to become licensed.
Due to the low level of risk associated with these bonds, Suretybonds.com can instantly issue these bonds without a credit check for as little as $100! Get bonded instantly!
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost*|
|$10,000 Home Care Employee Dishonesty Bond||$10,000||$100||Buy Now|
Ready to purchase the surety bond you need? Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or submit a bond request to get started!
Why do I need this bond?
The Home Care Services Protection act, or HCSCPA, was originally passed in October of 2013 with the stipulation that it would not take effect until January 1, 2016. Among other changes to more closely regulate the care of the elderly and disabled, the need for California home care employee dishonesty bonds was put in place to guarantee protection against the mishandling of client funds by home care agencies and their employees.
If it is discovered that the principal (home care aides) have engaged in the mishandling of client funds, a claim may be filed against their bond up to $10,000 to recoup financial losses. The surety will then pay to settle the claim, at which point it becomes the responsibility of the principal to repay the surety any money paid out in the settlement.
5 minutes is all it takes to purchase the California surety bond you need when you choose SuretyBonds.com. Get bonded now!
What’s the fine print?
Home care employee dishonesty bonds are issued on 1-year terms and must be renewed annually for as long as the license remains active. However, pursuant to the California Code of Civil Procedure: Section 996.320, the surety may cancel the surety bond at any time during the term by providing the obligee with written notice at least 30 days prior to the cancellation date.
How to become a home care organization in California
In addition to getting a surety bond, home care organizations and their aides are subject to the following license requirements, established by Section 1, Article 6 of the HCSCPA:
Background checks for all home care aides
Aides must complete 5 hours of entry level training, 2 hours of orientation, 3 hours of safety training, and 5 hours of annual competency training
Home care aides must be free of active tuberculosis
Home care agencies must hold general and professional liability insurance of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $3,000,000 in the aggregate (in total)
Along with these requirements, home care aides must submit an application for inclusion in the California Department of Social Services’ registry.
Ready to get started?