Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a talent agency bond cost in California?
The California Department of Industrial Relation’s Division of Labor Standards Enforcement’s Licensing and Registration Unit requires talent agencies and fee-related talent services to post a surety bond worth $50,000 before becoming a licensed professional.
These bonds are subject to underwriting consideration, so the price you’ll pay depends on a review of your personal credit report. Qualified applicants could pay as low as 1% of the bond amount, or just $500. Request your free bond quote now!
We can provide you with a free, personalized bond quote within 1 business day of receiving your application. Submit a bond request or call 1 (800) 308-4358 to connect with our team of experts who will walk you through our fast and easy bonding process.
What is a talent agency?
A talent agency refers to any individual, company, society, firm, partnership, association, corporation, limited liability company, manager, agents or employees that manage clients in the entertainment industry. Talent agents work to procure employment for the artists assigned to them and are tasked with shaping the image of their clients in the entertainment industry.
Artists could refer to actors and actresses working in legitimate productions for motion pictures, radio and music, theatre and other entertainment industries according to Labor Code section 1700.4(b).
The State of California requires all talent agencies to receive a license before providing or advertising for talent services according to Labor Code section 1700.5. To become a licensed agency, the organization must also purchase a talent agency bond.
Why do I need a talent agency bond?
Talent agency bonds in California ensure that principals (talent agents) comply with the provisions of Chapter 4, Part 6, Division 2 of the California Labor Code and pay all sums due to any individual or group when the principal or his/her representative or agent receives the sums.
Fee-related talent service bonds in California are required by section 1703(a)(3) of the Labor Code and ensure that principals (talent services) conduct business lawfully and ethically.
If a principal fails to comply with these terms, the bond protects harmed parties from financial loss up to the full amount of the bond. The principal must reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.
How long does a California talent agency bond last?
Both California talent agency and fee-related talent service surety bonds remain in full force and effect until terminated or canceled. The state (acting through the Labor Commissioner) reserves the right to terminate the bond by giving written notice of termination to the surety. The surety can terminate the bond according to the provisions of Section 996.320, Section 995.440 or Section 996.310, respectively, of the Code of Civil Procedure of the State of California.
How to obtain a talent agency license in California?
Learn How To Get A California Talent Agency License by reviewing our comprehensive guide.
To become licensed as a talent agency in California, applicants must complete a licensing application package that can be obtained by:
- Downloading the forms from the DLSE website
- Calling the Licensing and Registration Unit and requesting that a package be sent to you
- Requesting a package by mail or in person at the department
- Emailing your request with a complete mailing address to [email protected]
Applicants must submit the following documents with the completed application package:
- Affidavit of Character
- Personal Record
- Premise Certification
- Sample - Nonexclusive Contract Between Artist and Talent Agency
- Sample - Exclusive Contract Between Artist and Talent Agency
- Sample - Fee Schedule
- Request for Live Scan Service
- Certificate of Workers’ Compensation Insurance
- Copy of Driver’s License/Photo ID
- Fictitious Business Name Statement (if applicable)
- Articles of Organization (if LLC)
- Articles of Incorporation and Statement of Domestic Stock (if corporation)
- Business Tax Registration Certificate (if business is at a residence)
All applicants must also pay a $25 filing fee due at the time of license application. License holders will also need to pay annual fees including a license fee of $225 and a $50 fee for each office branch held by the agency in California.