Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a traffic school bond cost in California?
California’s Department of Motor Vehicles requires owners of traffic violator schools to post surety bonds to legally operate within the state. Owners who offer home study or internet instruction must post $15,000 bonds, while owners who do not offer home study or internet instruction must post $2,000 bonds.
$2,000 and $15,000 traffic school bonds are subject to underwriting consideration and require a credit check and review of the applicant's personal/financial history before determining if and at what price a bond can be issued. The best way to find out exactly how much you’ll pay for your surety bond is to connect with our team of bond experts now!
Purchasing the California surety bond you need is fast and easy when you work with the experts at SuretyBonds.com! Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or submit a bond request to begin.
Why do I need this bond?
By posting a California traffic violator school owner bond, the principal (school owner) pledges to conduct business ethically and lawfully. Specifically, the bond guarantees that the principal will comply with Vehicle Code sections 11202(a)(3) and 11203.5 to avoid causing monetary loss to any person receiving instruction from the school.
If a student of the school is harmed as a result of the principal’s actions, the bond protects the student from financial loss up to the full amount of the bond. The principal must reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.
Ready to get bonded quickly and easily? Start here!
What’s the fine print?
Traffic violator school owner bonds in California remain continuous until canceled and run concurrently with the license period for which the license is granted. The surety can cancel the bond in accordance with Article 13, Chapter 2, Title 14, Part 2 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
How to become a traffic violator school in California
In addition to posting a surety bond, applicants in California must be licensed to legally pursue the acts of a traffic violator school operator. Before being approved by the California Department of Motor Vehicles, all parts of the application must be submitted and all fees must be paid. Some licensing requirements include:
- Passing a required examination within 3 attempts
- Being at least 21 years of age or older
- Having successfully completed an educational program of not less than 4 hours
Complete licensing information can be accessed via the Additional Resources section of this page.
Ready to get started?
State of California Department of Motor Vehicles Traffic Violator School (TVS) Owner Surety Bond form
State of California Department of Motor Vehicles Traffic Violator School (TVS) Owner Surety Bond form for those who offer home study or internet instruction
An Act to Amend Section 11202 of the Vehicle Code
Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert today.