generic bond icon

Colorado Certificate of Title Bond

Price Varies / 3 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a certificate of title bond cost in Colorado?

Colorado certificate of title bond costs start at $100. The exact cost will vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the Colorado Department of Revenue.

  • Bond amounts up to $6,000 cost $100.
  • Bond amounts from $6,001 to $25,000 cost $10 per $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.
  • Bond amounts from 25,001 to $50,000 cost $15 per every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $375.
  • Bond amounts for more than $50,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $750.

Where can you get a Colorado certificate of title bond?

You can purchase a Colorado title bond online 24/7. You must provide the following information for Division of Motor Vehicles approval.

  • name
  • address
  • current vehicle retail value
  • vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • vehicle year, make, model, and body type

Once your payment has been processed, you'll receive your official surety bond by email.

How fast can I get a title bond? offers instant Colorado title surety bond delivery 24/7. Purchase now to receive your official bond delivered in minutes by email.

*Note: If your bond amount is higher than $25,000, your purchase order will be reviewed by a team member before your documents are emailed.

Bond Type
$700-$6,000Certificate of Title Bond
$6,001-$25,000Certificate of Title Bond
$25,001-$50,000Certificate of Title Bond
$50,001-$999,999Certificate of Title Bond

What is a Colorado certificate of title bond?

Colorado code 42-6-104 requires individuals who own a vehicle with a lost or stolen title file a surety bond to verify ownership as part of the vehicle registration process. By filing this bond, individuals verify their vehicle was not stolen or acquired under fraudulent circumstances.

Why do you need a bond for a certificate of title in Colorado?

If you're unable to provide required documents to prove vehicle ownership, filing a surety bond allows you to get a bonded title. The Colorado title bond protects prior owners, lien holders, and future owners from losses or damages resulting from certificate of title issuance. If the original vehicle title is found, the surety company will pay valid claims up to the full bond amount, which the bonded vehicle owner must reimburse.

A lost title bond is required for a vehicle title to be issued. If you plan to sell vehicles, a separate Colorado motor vehicle dealer bond is required.

Who registers vehicles in Colorado?

Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles enforces registration requirements for vehicles missing titles. Title bonds must be filed with the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles within 30 days.

How do I determine my bond amount?

The DOR DMV requires the bond amount be 2 times the vehicle's appraisal value, which is determined by a licensed Colorado auto dealer, price guide book, or computerized valuation service. The minimum appraisal amount accepted is $350 with a $700 minimum bond amount. If you need help determining your required bond amount, contact the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles before purchasing your bond.

How do I update or change my title surety bond form?

If the Colorado DOR requires your vehicle title bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes for these bonds include the vehicle owner's name or specific vehicle information.

Does your Colorado bonded title expire?

Your lost title bond will expire 3 years from its effective date and won't need to be renewed.

How do you get a bonded title in Colorado?

Vehicles with open liens are not eligible for bonded titles. Complete the following steps to apply for your Colorado bonded title.

  1. Have a certified P.O.S.T. inspector complete an inspection using the Certified VIN Inspection form (DR 2407). The inspection fee is $50.
  2. Complete the Motor Vehicle Requestor Release Affidavit of Intended Use form (DR 2489A).
  3. Request a Colorado Title Record Search form, and if a prior title holder is found, attempt to contact them via mail and submit proof through PS Form 3811-A. This search will also reveal if there are active liens on the vehicle, which must be released before completing the bonded title application
  4. Appraise your vehicle with a licensed Colorado auto dealer, price guide book, or computerized valuation service.
  5. Purchase a title bond.
  6. Complete the Bond Statement Guide and In Lieu of Bond Affidavit form (DR 2394).
  7. Submit all paperwork for required documents to your local DMV to issue your new title.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert