1 (800) 308-4358

Mon-Fri 12am-12pm UTC

Choose Bond
Enter Info
Receive Quote
generic bond icon

Colorado Marijuana License Bond

Price Varies / 1 year term

SECURE

Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.

BEST PRICES

We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.

FAST

We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

UPDATED NOTICE: AS OF AUGUST 10, 2015, WE ARE NO LONGER ABLE TO ISSUE MARIJUANA LICENSE BONDS IN COLORADO AS A RESULT OF THE RACKETEERING LAWSUITS FILED EARLIER THIS YEAR.

We apologize for the continued changes surrounding these bond types recently. We do hope to resume offering marijuana bonding services soon. Our team will continue to post information here and on our blog regarding these changes.

How much does a marijuana license bond cost in Colorado?

Colorado marijuana license bond amounts vary depending on the exact bond type that is required. The state requires both retail and medical dispensaries to post specific, separate bonds in the amount of $5,000. Retail dispensaries need an additional retail excise tax bond. Various county and city governments require their own bond forms in addition to those required for licensing at the state level. Prices are determined based on underwriting consideration, which includes a review of the applicant’s credit report.

Medical marijuana bond information

This specific bond type ensures that medical marijuana dispensaries pay their taxes appropriately. The applicant must also remain in compliance with the Colorado Medical Marijuana Code (Title 12, Article 43.3 of the Colorado Revised Statutes).

The dispensary’s legal name, address, and county must be listed on the bond form as filed with the state for licensing.

The bond will remain in effect continuously on a year-to-year basis. If the bond is to be canceled, the surety must provide the state with 45 days notice. If the bond is to be renewed, the surety will provide a continuation certificate to the state.

To obtain a medical marijuana license in Colorado, applicants must provide the following:

  • $5,000 surety bond
  • completed application with all associated forms
  • all required licensing fees

Applicants must bring all licensing materials to the Colorado Marijuana Enforcement Division office. These items must be dropped off during a scheduled appointment.

Retail marijuana bond information

This specific bond type ensures that retail marijuana facilities pay their taxes appropriately. The principal must also remain in compliance with Title 12, Article 43.3 of the Colorado Revised Statutes - Retail Marijuana.

The dispensary’s legal name, address, and county must be listed on the bond form as filed with the state for licensing.

The bond will remain in effect continuously on a year-to-year basis. If the bond is to be canceled, the surety must provide the state with 45 days notice. If the bond is to be renewed, the surety will provide a continuation certificate to the state. For retail excise tax surety bonds, 65 days written notice must be given to the obligee prior to cancellation.

To obtain a retail marijuana license in Colorado, applicants must bring the following licensing materials to the Colorado Marijuana Enforcement Division office during a scheduled appointment:

  • completed application package with all associated documents
  • required licensing fees
  • official inspection verifying the structural, electrical, zoning and fire prevention elements for the business

The license application must include the legal name of the business, the applicant’s name and phone number, the type of license the applicant is applying for (store, cultivation, product manufacturer or testing facility), and the local jurisdiction of each license.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert