Connecticut Private Detective and Security Service Bond

Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.


1 year term



2 year term - save $25.00!



3 year term - save $50.00!

We offer 24/7 instant email delivery. Buy your bond now to get it within 6 minutes!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a $10,000 private detective or security service bond cost in Connecticut?

Connecticut private detective or security service surety bonds cost $100 for a one-year term. Simply click Buy Now to purchase your bond safely and securely via our online bond checkout. In just a few minutes you can be on your way to getting bonded as a private detective or security service provider in Connecticut.

Bond Type
$10,000Private Detective and Security Service Bond

Why do I need this bond?

The Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection requires private detectives to post a $10,000 surety bond.

Connecticut private detective surety bonds ensure that the principal (private detective) will not engage in any fraudulent activities, misrepresent themselves or impersonate a law enforcement officer while on the job. Connecticut private investigator surety bonds cover damages suffered by anyone as a result of unlawful or unethical actions committed by the private investigator or private investigative agency.

What’s the fine print?

Connecticut requires all private detectives to post this specific surety bond. Connecticut private detective surety bonds expire 12 months from the effective date unless claimed against or canceled. The obligee requires 30 days’ notice of cancellation from the surety underwriting company.

How to become a private detective in Connecticut

You must be licensed to be a private detective in Connecticut. To be considered for a license, an applicant must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 25 years old
  • Be determined to be of good moral character
  • Provide driving record from the last three years
  • Pay all licensing fees

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert