generic bond icon

Florida Medicaid Provider Bond

Price Varies / 1 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Florida Medicaid provider bond cost?

Florida Medicaid provider bond costs start at $250 annually. Your personal Medicaid program bond premium will be provided after a quick application review.

How do I apply for a Medicaid provider bond in Florida?

You can apply for your Florida Medicaid provider bond online 24/7. Simply provide the following information for Florida Agency for Health Care Administration filing approval.

  • Medicaid provider name with any d/b/a
  • address
  • county
  • Medicaid provider number/tax ID

Once your order has been processed, a copy of your Florida surety bond will be sent to your email, and your official Medicaid bond will be shipped to your preferred mailing address. 

How long does it take to get a Florida Medicaid provider bond? 

Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to deliver your official Florida Medicaid provider bond faster than any other surety company. The Agency for Health Care Administration requires your bond be physically issued and shipped to you. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically shipped same-day. Choose overnight shipping at checkout if you're in a rush. 

If you have questions about the Florida Medicaid bond or your application, call 1(800)308-4358 to speak with a friendly surety expert. We're here to guide you through the Medicaid provider bond process so you can get back to running your business.

Bond Type
$50,000Medicaid Provider Bond

What is a Florida Medicaid provider bond? 

Florida Statute 409.907 requires Medicaid providers file a minimum $50,000 surety bond if they process money from a fee-for-service basis or a non-cost-based fee schedule. If a Medicaid provider bills the Florida Medicaid program more than $50,000 annually, they must file a bond to match the full annual amount billed. State form AHCA Form 2200-0006 is officially titled the “State of Florida Agency for Health Care Administration Medicaid Provider Surety Bond” but is more commonly known as the “Medicaid provider bond,” “Medicaid services bond," or just “Medicaid bond.”

What is the role of the obligee in a Florida Medicaid provider bond? 

The Florida Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) enforces licensing for Medicaid providers working in the state, including the surety bond requirement. As the entity requiring the bond, the AHCA acts as the bond's obligee who requires the Medicaid provider to pay fees, provide services, and fulfill other obligations as required by law. If you have questions about your existing Medicaid program license or new application, you can contact the AHCA by calling 1(800)289-7799

What is the relationship between a Florida Medicaid provider bond and compliance with Medicaid regulations? 

By filing this Florida surety bond, Medicaid providers agree to comply with Florida Statutes when operating their businesses, which specifically includes legally applying Medicaid funds received and performing all legal obligations when providing Medicaid services. Failing to comply with all relevant Medicaid regulations can result in claims against a provider's surety bond. 

This surety bond is required for Medicaid providers enrolled in Florida. If you're enrolled as a Medicaid provider in Texas, you need a separate Texas Medicaid provider bond. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) also enforce a separate DMEPOS bond requirement for those who supply durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics and supplies. 

What happens if a Florida Medicaid provider does not have a bond?

If a Florida Medicaid provider is required to file a bond under Florida Statute 409.907, they must maintain an active bond for the duration of their license. If they fail to file or renew their bond, the provider risks losing their Medicaid program license. 

How do I update or change my Medicaid provider bond form? 

If the Agency for Health Care Administration requires your bond form to be updated for any reason, contact your surety company. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. The most common changes requested are updating the following to match your existing Medicare program licensing or new application paperwork.

  • provider name or d/b/a
  • address
  • county
  • Medicaid provider number/tax ID

How do I renew my Medicaid provider surety bond? 

You must renew your Florida Medicaid provider bond before its current term expires. Once you pay your renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be sent to keep your bond active for your next license term. 

How do you become a Medicaid provider in Florida? 

Complete the steps below to apply for your Florida Medicaid provider license.

  1. Complete a new Medicaid provider application through the Florida Medicaid Web Portal. 
  2. Undergo a criminal background check (only required for individuals with 5% or more ownership).
  3. Complete a Non-Institutional Medical Provider Agreement (if applicable).
  4. Purchase and file a minimum $50,000 Florida surety bond (if applicable). 

What happens if a claim is made against a Florida Medicaid provider bond? 

A bond claim can be filed against a Medicaid provider if they fail to provide Medicaid services or manage Medicaid funds according to Florida statutes. Their issuing surety company will pay valid claims to harmed parties up to the full $50,000 bond amount, which the provider must reimburse in full. 

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert