How much does a seller of travel bond cost in Florida?
The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services requires travel agents to post a surety bond. The bond amount varies based on the type of travel being sold, but can never be less than $25,000 or more than $50,000. Applicants should verify their required bond amount with the department prior to bonding.
These bonds are subject to underwriting, which means the amount you’ll pay for your bond is based on a review of your personal credit report. With good credit, clients could pay as low as 1% of the total bond amount. Even with less-than-stellar credit, our team works hard to get you bonded for the best rate possible. Apply for a free bond quote today!
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost by Credit Score*|
|680 and up||679 - 600||599 or lower|
|Seller of Travel Bond||$25,000-50,000||Starts at 1%||5-8%||10%+||Apply Now|
Call 1 (800) 308-4358, or submit a bond request. One of our expert surety specialists will contact you right away to get you set up with the bond you need.
Why do I need this bond?
Florida seller of travel surety bonds are put in place to ensure that principals (sellers of travel) conduct business according to the provisions listed in Sections 559.926 through 559.939 of the Florida Statutes, which is also referred to as the Florida Sellers of Travel Act. Prohibited acts under this bond include:
- conducting business without annually registering with the Department
- selling or marketing a specific number of certificates exceeding the number allowed
- selling vacation certificates with expiration dates of 18 months or more from the date of issuance
- misrepresenting purchasers’ right to cancel with reimbursement
- and more
The bond protects consumers from financial loss resulting from the principal’s unethical and unlawful business practices.
What’s the fine print?
Seller of travel bonds in Florida can be canceled by the surety if the surety gives the state written notice of cancellation 30 days prior to the effective date of cancellation.
How to become a seller of travel in Florida
Any seller of travel that has a business location in Florida or that offers to sell travel related services to consumers in Florida for individuals or groups must register with the state. An annual filing fee of $50 is required for each independent sales agent.
Applicants who have contracted with the Airlines Reporting Corporation (ARC) for 3 years or more under the same ownership and control are not required to register, but must have a statement of exemption issued by the department to obtain an occupational license.
Sellers of travel who do not offer vacation certificates must submit a completed registration form, $300 non-refundable fee and proof of a $25,000 surety bond. A seller of travel that does offer vacation certificates must submit a completed registration form, $300 non-refundable fee, $100 document submission fee and proof of a $25,000 surety bond.
Ready to get started?