How much does a Georgia alcohol seller bond cost?
The Georgia Department of Revenue requires sellers of alcohol to file a surety bond before commencing business operations. Since there are so many different types of alcohol seller bonds in Georgia, as illustrated in the chart below, there is a variety in the amounts required for the bonds. There is also a variance in the length of these bonds (although most remain valid for 1 year) and the cancellation clauses associated with them.
For certain alcohol seller bonds, such as the manufacturers distilled spirits license bond, SuretyBonds.com can instantly issue for just $100. This means there is no credit check and everyone qualifies for the flat rate!
For other bonds, such as the brew pub license bond, premiums are determined through an underwriting process. This consists of a review of your credit report and financial history. Worried that you don’t qualify? We can approve 99% of our applicants through our bad credit bonding program!
Ready to purchase an alcohol seller bond? Complete an online bond request or call 1 (800) 308-4358 to work with a surety specialist that will walk you through the bonding process!
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost*|
|$20,000 Brew Pub License Bond||$20,000||Subject to Underwriting||Apply Now|
|$2,500 Distilled Spirits License Performance and Tax Liability Bond||$2,500||Subject to Underwriting||Apply Now|
|Varies Distilled Spirits Wholesaler License Bond||Varies||Subject to Underwriting||Apply Now|
|$2,500 Liquor Broker Bond||$2,500||Subject to Underwriting||Apply Now|
|$5,000 Malt Beverage License Brewery - Broker - Importer Performance and Tax Liability Bond||$5,000||$100||Apply Now|
|$5,000 Manufacturers Distilled Spirits License Bond||$5,000||$100||Apply Now|
|Varies Retailers and Consumption on Premises Bond||Varies||Subject to Underwriting||Apply Now|
|Varies Wholesalers Malt Beverage License Performance and Tax Liability Bond||Varies||Subject to Underwriting||Apply Now|
|$5,000 Winery Manufacturer - Broker - Importer Performance and Tax Liability Bond||$5,000||$100||Apply Now|
Not sure which bond you need? Consult your local municipality or call us today at 1 (800) 308-4358 and one of our specialists will help you out. Or, submit an online bond request form to begin the bonding process. SuretyBonds.com strives to provide the fastest and most efficient surety bonding services in the industry!
Why do I need this bond?
Alcohol seller bonds hold the principal (alcohol seller) responsible for breaches of law during the course of business operations. By requiring alcohol sellers to file a surety bond, they must comply with the provisions of the bond form, or else be subject to claims against them. Common violations of alcohol seller bonds include:
- failure to pay taxes and license fees
- operating without a valid license
- selling alcohol to minors
- advertising alcohol prices in visible places outside of business
- selling alcohol for less than the cost for the licensee
- and more
For a more detailed list of prohibited actions on behalf of alcohol sellers, check out the Georgia Alcohol Beverage Code in the “Additional Resources” section.
Not sure where to begin? Give us a call at 1 (800) 308-4358 to speak with a surety expert, or take a couple minutes to fill out our online bond request form. SuretyBonds.com makes the bonding process as simple as possible for its customers!
What’s the fine print?
Alcohol sellers in Georgia are required by the Georgia Department of Revenue to execute a surety bond. There are many different types of alcohol sellers within the state, so the bonding amounts will vary according to your type. The bond term and cancellation clause will also vary according to your specific type, although most tend to be 1 year and 60-day cancellation notices.
How to become an alcohol seller in Georgia
Georgia alcohol sellers are required to obtain three different licenses and permits to operate: a local alcohol license, state alcohol license and Federal Basic Permit. There are many different types of licenses and alcohol, so it is important to locate the resources that help you find the correct license.
Local: Check with your municipality concerning the requirements and forms required to obtain your local alcohol license. There could be several differences depending on your municipality.
State: After you obtain your local license, you can apply for a state license. You do this through the Georgia Department of Revenue. For more information, visit the department’s alcohol licensing process page in the “Additional Resources” section.
Federal: Once you receive your state license, you can obtain a Federal Basic Permit through the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau. There is no fee for this permit.
In addition to a license, you need a surety bond. Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or take a couple minutes to complete our online bond request form. Our experts try to help you by catering to your personal bonding needs!
Ready to get started?