How much does a money transmitter bond cost in Iowa?
The Iowa Division of Banking requires money transmission professionals to post surety bonds to legally work within the state. Before beginning the bonding process, applicants should verify their required bond amount with the state in which they choose to do business. This bond must have $50,000 minimum coverage.
This specific bond type is subject to underwriting, meaning the amount you’ll pay depends on a review of your personal credit report as well as your required bond amount. Don’t worry about bad credit affecting your chance of posting a bond. The experts at SuretyBonds.com make the bonding process fast and easy for all applicants. Request your free bond quote now!
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost*|
|Varies Money Transmitter Bond||Varies||Starts at 1.5%||GET A QUOTE|
If you’re ready to become bonded quickly, easily and accurately, call SuretyBonds.com at 1 (800) 308-4358 or submit a bond request. We can typically provide your free no-obligation bond quote within 1 business day of submitting an application.
Why do I need this bond?
Iowa money transmitter surety bonds guarantee that principals (money transmission professionals) conduct business in compliance with the Uniform Money Services Act (Iowa Code Chapter 533C) and all other laws applicable to the business of money transmission. If fraudulent activity occurs as a result of malpractice conducted by the principal, consumers will not face any financial harm. Acts of malpractice and causes for license suspension and revocation include:
- The licensee violates Chapter 533C of the Iowa Code or a rule adopted or an order issued under this chapter
- The licensee does not cooperate with an examination or investigation by the superintendent of the Iowa Division of Banking
- The licensee engages in fraud, intentional misrepresentation or gross negligence
Other causes for license suspension and revocation can be found below in the Additional Resources section.
Ready to get bonded? Start here!
What’s the fine print?
Iowa money transmitter licenses remain in effect for one year and can be renewed with a $500 annual fee. The applicant must have a minimum net worth of $100,000 to apply for this license.
How to become a money transmitter in Iowa
To become a licensed money transmitter in Iowa, applicants must provide the following information on the license application:
- The legal name of the applicant and its residential and business addresses
- A description of any money services previously provided by the applicant and the money services that the applicant seeks to provide in Iowa
- A list of the applicant’s proposed authorized delegates and the locations in Iowa where the applicant and its authorized delegates propose to engage in money transmission or provide other money services
Other license application requirements can be found below in the Additional Resources section.
In addition, applicants must submit a nonrefundable $1,000 application/investigation fee.
Upon the filing of the application, a mandatory investigation will be conducted to determine if all required criteria are met by the applicant.
Ready to get started?