NOTE: Effective May 1, 2018, KRS 138.670 has been repealed, meaning motor carriers and heavy equipment motor carriers are no longer required to purchase a highway use tax surety bond. Although no new highway use tax bonds will be issued, bonds effective prior to May 1 will remain in effect until the end of the current term. Please see our Kentucky page for more information regarding surety bonds that are currently required in the state.
How much does a highway tax bond cost in Kentucky?
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Division of Motor Carriers requires individuals who use state highways to transport goods, property or passengers to post surety in an amount equal to four months’ tax liability or $1,000, whichever is greater.
SuretyBonds.com issues $1,000 highway use bonds instantly for just $100 without underwriting. Simply click Buy Now below to visit our secure bond checkout where you can buy your bond directly from our site for the $1,000 bond amount. It only takes a few minutes to be on your way to getting bonded.
If you require a bond over $1,000, click Apply Now to submit a free quote request. One of our experienced agents will connect with you shortly to find the best possible rate for your bond.
Why do I need this bond?
By posting a highway use tax bond in Kentucky, principals (highway users) agree to promptly pay all taxes, penalties and interest due to the state as provided by KRS 138.655 through 138.725. Principals must also provide quarterly reports as required by law and furnish information as required by the department. These files must be made readily available to the department on request.
If the principal fails to comply with these terms, the bond protects the state from financial loss up to the full bond amount. The principal must reimburse the surety for any claims paid out.
What’s the fine print?
Kentucky highway use bonds remain in full force and effect until canceled. The surety can cancel the bond at any time by giving written notice of cancellation to the department and the principal at least 60 days prior to the effective cancellation date.
How to become a commercial motor vehicle owner or operator in Kentucky
Licensing requirements for commercial motor vehicle owners/operators vary depending on the exact highway license type needed. For specific information on your highway license type, visit the state’s Transportation Cabinet website.
Vehicles with a combined licensed weight of at least 60,000 pounds must report mileage tax.