generic bond icon

Louisiana Money Transmitter Bond

Price Varies / 1 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a money transmitter bond cost in Louisiana?

The Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions requires money transmission professionals to post $25,000 surety bonds to legally work within the state.

This specific bond type is subject to underwriting, meaning the amount you’ll pay depends on a review of your personal credit report as well as your required bond amount. Don’t worry about bad credit affecting your chance of posting a bond. The experts at make the bonding process fast and easy for all applicants. Request your free bond quote now!

Bond Type
$25,000Money Transmitter Bond

If you’re ready to become bonded quickly, easily and accurately, call at 1 (800) 308-4358 or submit a bond request. We can typically provide your free no-obligation bond quote within 1 business day of applying.

Why do I need this bond?

Louisiana money transmitter surety bonds guarantee that principals (money transmission professionals) conduct business in compliance with Title 6, Chapter 13 of the Louisiana Revenue Statutes and all other laws applicable to the business of money transmission. If fraudulent activity occurs as a result of malpractice conducted by the principal, consumers will not face any financial harm. Causes for license suspension and revocation include:

  • Violating any of the provisions of Title 6 Chapter 13
  • Violating any provision of a voluntary consent or compliance agreement which has been entered into with the Commissioner of the Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions
  • Knowingly providing or causing to be provided to the commissioner any information, which if submitted by him, would have resulted in denial of the license application

Other causes for license suspension and revocation can be found below in the “Additional Resources” section.

What’s the fine print?

The applicant must have a minimum net worth of $100,000 to apply for a Louisiana money transmitter license.

How to become a money transmitter in Louisiana

To become a licensed money transmitter in Louisiana, applicants must provide, at a minimum, the full name and street address of each member in an ownership position.

The full language for license application requirements can be found below in the “Additional Resources” section.

In addition, applicants must submit a nonrefundable $3,000 application/investigation fee.

Upon the filing of the application, a mandatory investigation will be conducted to determine if all required criteria are met by the applicant.

Take the first step toward becoming licensed in Louisiana by purchasing the surety bond you need quickly, easily and accurately!

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert