generic bond icon

Massachusetts Liquor License Bond

Select Bond For Price
Want your bond emailed to you today? Buy your bond within 2 hrs 22 min!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

Why do I need a Massachusetts alcohol license bond?

Individuals involved in the sale, storage, or manufacture of alcoholic beverages must be bonded to protect customers from unlawful practices that could potentially cause financial damages. By posting this bond, the principal (liquor handler) agrees to comply with regulations as outlined in the Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 138, or any other Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission regulations. Prohibited acts under these laws include, but are not limited to:

  • selling to any person under the age of 21
  • employing any person under the age of 18
  • selling alcohol during riots or times of great public excitement
  • selling to any intoxicated person

If these or any other laws stated in the General Laws are broken, a claim can be made against the bond to provide reparation for damages.

For more information on liquor license bonds in Massachusetts, contact our surety experts.

How much does an alcohol license bond cost in Massachusetts?

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission requires any person involved in the sale, storage, or manufacture of alcoholic beverages to be bonded and licensed to work legally in the state.

The required bond amount varies and is determined by the Commission. Bond amounts of $10,000 or less can be issued instantly without a credit check. If the bond amount exceeds $10,000, the cost will be subject to underwriting, which means your surety bond cost will be directly related to your credit history.

Bond Type
$100-$10,000Liquor License Bond
$10,001-$50,000Liquor License Bond
$50,001-$100,000Liquor License Bond

*The bond premium rate quotes provided to you through this website are for pricing comparisons and quotation estimate purposes only. The bond rate quotes provided are based on general assumptions that may or may not be applicable to you and are subject to change at any time. These rate quotes do not constitute an offer of insurance, nor is any contract, agreement, or bond coverage implied, formed, or bound by the provision of rate quotes. Bondability, final bond premium rate quotes, and an offer of insurance, if any, will be determined by the insurance company providing your bond. You must contact us directly to obtain a quote for binding purposes.

How to get a liquor license in Massachusetts

Massachusetts offers numerous types of specific liquor licenses that fall into one of four categories:

  • all alcoholic
  • wine only
  • malt only
  • wine and malt

Some local county and city governments also have their own additional licensing requirements that must be met before an establishment can be approved for a liquor license.

What’s required for an alcohol license in Massachusetts?

Information on city-specific liquor sales licenses in Massachusetts can be found here. Information on general state liquor licenses can be found here.

Massachusetts liquor license bonds have a set expiration date of December 31. If the bond is to be canceled at any other time, the surety must provide the Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission with at least 30 days' written notice.

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert