Minnesota Private Detective or Protective Agent Bond

Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.


1 year term



2 year term - save $25.00!



3 year term - save $50.00!

Want your bond emailed to you Thursday, May 23? Buy your bond within 23 hrs 36 min!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a $10,000 detective surety bond cost in Minnesota?

Minnesota private detective or investigator bonds are issued instantly for just $100. A multi-year discount is available. Simply click Buy Now to purchase your bond online via our secure bond checkout. In just a few minutes, you can be on your way to being bonded as a private detective or investigator in Minnesota.

Bond Type
$10,000Private Detective or Protective Agent Bond

Why do I need this bond?

All private detectives and protective agents in Minnesota must post a surety bond in the amount of $10,000 as a licensing requirement.

This bond ensures that all private detectives and investigators do their job as required by law. Minnesota private detective and investigator bonds protect citizens from any financial loss resulting from unlawful acts carried out by the principal (private detective or investigator).

This specific bond also prohibits private detectives from displaying on a badge or any other form of identification the words “public safety,” “police,” “highway patrol,” “state patrol,” “sheriff,” “trooper,” “law enforcement,” or any other reference to a government entity.

How to become a private detective or investigator in Minnesota

Other requirements to become a licensed private detective or investigator include being 18 years of age or older, having a clean criminal record, and submitting proof that you have adequate detective or investigator experience.

Individuals can request an application packet from the state by sending a $25 check or money order payable to the Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services. Individuals must state the license type being requested (Private Detective or Protective Agent) and level (individual, partnership, or corporate/LLC).

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert