generic bond icon

Missouri Certificate of Title Bond

Price Varies / 3 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Missouri certificate of title bond cost?

Missouri certificate of title bond costs start at $100. The exact costs depend on the bond amount required by the Missouri Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Bureau.

  • Bonds up to $10,000 cost $100.
  • Bonds between $10,001 and $50,000 cost $10 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.
  • Bonds for more than $50,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $500.

How do you get a Missouri bond title?

You can buy your Missouri title bond online 24/7. You'll need to provide the following information for Missouri Motor Vehicle Bureau filing approval.

  • name
  • vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • vehicle year, make, and model

Once your payment has been processed, your official Missouri title bond will be delivered to your email instantly.

How fast can I get a certificate of title surety bond? offers instant Missouri vehicle title surety bond delivery 24/7. Purchase now to receive your official Missouri certificate of title bond delivered in minutes by email.

*Note: If your bond amount is higher than $50,000, your purchase order will be reviewed by a team member before your documents are emailed.

Bond Type
$100-$10,000Certificate of Title Bond
$10,001-$25,000Certificate of Title Bond
$25,001-$50,000Certificate of Title Bond
$50,001-$100,000Certificate of Title Bond

What is a certificate of title bond in Missouri?

Title XIX Section 301.192 of the Missouri Revised Statutes requires individuals file a certificate of title bond when proof of vehicle ownership cannot be provided. A bonded title gives the vehicle owner the same ownership rights as a regular title. The bond must be filed within 30 days of issuance.

Missouri title surety bonds protect previous vehicle owners or lien holders as well as future owners against expenses, losses, or damages. A claim can be filed against the bond if the original title is found. The surety company would pay valid claims up to the full bond amount, which the vehicle owner would the be required to reimburse.

Who regulates registration for vehicle title bonds in Missouri?

The Missouri Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Bureau enforces registration requirements for vehicles with lost, stolen, or missing titles.

Who is required to purchase a bond?

To qualify for a bonded title in Missouri, state law requires vehicles be at least 7 years old and not be valued more than $3,000, however the state often requires bonds for vehicles valued for more than $3,000. Bonded titles will not be issued for vehicles with incomplete or conflicting ownership documentation or vehicles previously titled with the Motor Vehicle Bureau. Vehicles with liens cannot get a surety bond.

Please note a Missouri certificate of title bond is required if you have insufficient vehicle ownership. If you're planning to become a licensed motor vehicle dealer, a separate Missouri motor vehicle dealer bond is required.

How is the bond amount determined?

The bond amount must be twice the appraisal value of your vehicle and cannot be less than $100. The bond amount can be calculated by using Kelley Blue Book or by finding the average of 2 appraisals from licensed Missouri motor vehicle dealers.

Contact your local DMV if you have questions about your required bond amount before purchasing your bond.

How do I update or change my lost title bond form?

If the Missouri Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Bureau requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes for these bonds include the owner's name or vehicle information.

Do I need to renew my missing title surety bond in Missouri?

Missouri certificate of title bonds expire at the end of a 3-year term, at which point they will be returned. Owners will receive an original car title for their vehicle at the end of the term.

How do I get a Missouri bonded title?

The following must be submitted to the Department of Revenue to get a bonded vehicle title.

  1. Explanation of how the owner acquired the motor vehicle and why a valid certificate of ownership cannot be obtained
  2. Ownership evidence
  3. Verification the vehicle has been previously titled or registered
  4. Notarized lien release from any lienholder on record, if applicable
  5. Statement certifying the odometer reading (if the vehicle is less than 10 years old)
  6. Missouri certificate of title bond in the correct required amount

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert