1 (800) 308-4358

Mon-Fri 12am-12pm UTC

Closed Monday 5/30

Choose Bond
Enter Info
Receive Quote
generic bond icon

Montana Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond

Select Bond For Price

SECURE

Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.

BEST PRICES

We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.

FAST

We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Montana auto dealer bond cost?

The Montana Attorney General requires auto dealers, franchise dealers, wholesale dealers, auto auction dealers, broker dealers, and new manufactured home dealers to post surety bonds. Most of these bonds are for $50,000 worth of coverage, but franchise dealers who sell only street-legal motorcycles and quadricycles must post $15,000 surety bonds. Franchise dealers who sell only snowmobiles, off-highway vehicles, and boats must post surety $5,000 bonds.

These bonds are subject to underwriting, so the amount you’ll pay for your bond depends on a review of your personal credit report. Bad credit? Don’t worry! SuretyBonds.com offers an exclusive bad credit bonding program through which we can approve 99% of all applicants. Request a free bond quote now!

Bond Type
$5,000Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond Motorboats, Personal Watercraft, Snowmobiles, Off-Highway Vehicles
$15,000Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond Motorcycles and Quadricycles
$50,000Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond New or Used Dealers, Brokers, Wholesalers, Auto Auctions, Manufactured Dwelling

Call 1 (800) 308-4358, or click here to submit a bond request. Our experts make the bonding process fast, easy, and accurate.

Montana motor vehicle dealer bond importance

Montana motor vehicle dealers bonds ensure that principals (motor vehicle dealers) conduct business in compliance with the requirements of the law of Montana. If the principal fails to act lawfully and ethically while on the job, a claim can be filed against the bond. If the claim is validated, the surety will cover any damages suffered by harmed consumers up to the full amount of the bond. The principal must then reimburse the surety for any damages paid out.

Ready to get the Montana surety bond you need? Get started now!

Please note this page is for vehicle dealer licensing. If you have lost or need to obtain a vehicle title, a Montana certificate of title bond is required.

Considerations for Montana motor vehicle bonds

Motor vehicle dealer bonds in Montana remain in full force and effect until canceled. The surety can cancel the bond at any time by giving written notice of cancellation and the reason for cancellation to the Title and Registration Bureau in Deer Lodge, Montana, and to the principal. Cancellation becomes effective 30 days after the receipt of said notice.

How to obtain a Montana auto dealer license

To qualify for licensure as a FRANCHISE (D) dealer, an applicant must do the following:

  1. Submit a written application for a dealer’s license.
  2. Provide the name and address of the manufacturer, importer, or distributor with whom the applicant has a contract.
    Other vehicles/agreements that apply to be included on this form are:
    Power sports vehicle
    Motor home franchise or sales agreement
    Name and make of all motor vehicles, power sports vehicles, or motor homes to be handled by the applicant
  3. Manufacturers and distributors of new vehicles must be TRB licensed.
  4. The franchise information must be shown on the dealer application and must be kept current.
  5. Identify the permanent non-residential building where sales are made.
  6. Provide proof of signage stating the name of the business and indicating that vehicles are offered for sale, trade, or consignment.
    The letters of the sign must be at least six inches in height and clearly visible and readable to the major avenue of traffic at a minimum distance of 150 feet.
  7. Supply a bond in the amount of $50,000.
  8. Provide the number of the telephone service at the established place of business.
  9. Supply a written notice, conspicuously posted at the established place of business, of the regular and customary office hours.
  10. All new dealers must provide a copy of general liability insurance, which may include garage liability depending on your business needs.
  11. Submit an original license and application fee of $30.
  12. When all requirements are met, contact the Montana State Highway Patrol, compliance officer, or local law enforcement agency for completion of the inspection form.

To qualify for licensure as a WHOLESALE DEALER (W), an applicant must do the following:

  1. Fulfill the above requirements for franchise dealers.
  2. A wholesale dealer can only sell to licensed motor vehicle dealers and auto auctions or another wholesaler.
  3. Submit an original license and application fee of $30.
  4. When all requirements are met, contact the Montana State Highway Patrol, compliance officer, or local law enforcement agency for completion of the inspection form.

To qualify for licensure as a AUTO AUCTION DEALER (A), an applicant must do the following:

  1. Fulfill the above requirements for franchise dealers.
  2. An auto auction shall notify and update the department with current fleet sale agreements between the auto auction and franchisor. An auto auction may not conduct a factory fleet sale unless authorized or
    appointed by a franchisor licensed under part 2 of this chapter (MCA 61-4-120).
  3. Submit an original license and application fee of $500.
  4. When all requirements are met, contact the Montana State Highway Patrol, compliance officer, or local law enforcement agency for completion of the inspection form.

To qualify for licensure as a BROKER DEALER (B), an applicant must do the following:

  1. Fulfill the above requirements for franchise dealers.
  2. A broker is authorized to negotiate the purchase, sale, or exchange of a motor vehicle, power sports vehicle, or trailer from a dealer or another person upon behalf of a client when the broker does not store, display, or take ownership of the motor vehicle, power sports vehicle, or trailer being purchased, sold, or exchanged.
  3. Submit an original license and application fee of $30.
  4. When all requirements are met, contact the Montana State Highway Patrol, compliance officer, or
    local law enforcement agency for completion of the inspection form.

To qualify for licensure as a NEW MANUFACTURED HOME DEALER (MD), an applicant must do the following:

  1. Fulfill the above requirements for franchise dealers.
  2. These dealers will be authorized to sell any new manufactured home that is covered under a franchise agreement between the licensee and the manufacturer, importer, or distributor of the manufactured home; sell any used manufactured home; negotiate the purchase, sale, or exchange of a manufactured home from another licensed dealer or another person on behalf of a client when the licensee does not store, display, or take ownership of the manufactured home purchased, sold, or exchanged.
  3. A “manufactured home” refers to a residential dwelling built in a factory in accordance with the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development Code and the federal Manufactured Home Construction and Safety Standards. The term does not include a mobile home or house trailer as defined in MCA 15-24-201.
  4. Submit an original license and application fee of $50.
  5. When all requirements are met, contact the Montana highway patrol, compliance officer, or local law enforcement agency for completion of the inspection form. 

Complete licensing information can be accessed via the “Additional Resources” section of this page. Take the first step toward becoming a licensed motor vehicle dealer in Montana by requesting your free bond quote now!

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert