generic bond icon

Nebraska Certificate of Title Bond

Price Varies / 3 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

What is the cost of a Nebraska certificate of title bond?

Nebraska certificate of title bond costs start at $100 for the state-required 3-year term. Exact costs vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles.

  • Bond amounts up to $6,000 cost $100.
  • Bond amounts from $6,001 to $50,000 cost $15 per $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.
  • Bond amounts more than $50,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $750.

How do you get a Nebraska certificate of title bond?

You can purchase your Nebraska title bond online 24/7 with You must provide the following information for Department of Motor Vehicles filing approval.

  • vehicle owner's name
  • address
  • county
  • vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • vehicle year, make, model, and body type

Once your payment has been processed, you'll receive your official vehicle title surety bond by email instantly.

How fast can I get a title surety bond? offers instant Nebraska title surety bond delivery online 24/7. Purchase now to receive your official Nebraska surety bond delivered in minutes by email.

*Note: If your bond amount is higher than $50,000, your purchase order will be reviewed by a team member before your documents are emailed.

Bond Type
$100-$6,000Certificate of Title Bond
$6,001-$50,000Certificate of Title Bond
$50,001-$100,000Certificate of Title Bond

What is the Nebraska certificate title bond?

Nebraska Revised Statute 60-167 requires individuals without official vehicle ownership titles file a surety bond for registration. Nebraska residents can also file a bond with the state if a title hasn't previously been issued for their vehicle or if it currently has a bonded title in another state. The DMV does not require bonded titles for ATVs, UTVs, or minibikes unless a title was previously issued by the state. 

Why do you need a Nebraska certificate of title bond?

The lost title bond protects any prior owner, prior lienholder, or any subsequent purchaser of the vehicle from expenses, losses, or damages resulting from certificate of title issuance. If the original title is found and a valid claim is made against the bond, the surety company will pay damages up to the full bond amount, which the bonded vehicle owner must then reimburse. 

This bond is required to register a vehicle without an original title. If you plan to sell vehicles, a separate Nebraska motor vehicle dealer bond is required.

Who registers vehicles with missing titles?

The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles enforces registration requirements for vehicles missing titles. If you have questions about registering your vehicle or submitting a bonded title application, call 1 (402) 471-3918 or email [email protected].

How do I determine my bond amount?

Nebraska law requires your surety bond amount be 1.5 times the current vehicle value as outlined on its property tax or NADA valuation. If you need help determining your exact required surety bond amount, contact the DMV before purchasing your defective title bond.

How do Nebraska bonded title applicants file your bond?

You must file all bonded title application documents with the DMV within 30 days of surety bond issuance. 

Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles Driver and Vehicle Records Division
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94789
Lincoln, NE 68509-4789

How do I update or change my title bond form?

If the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles requires your defective title bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes for these bonds include:

  • vehicle owner's name
  • address
  • county
  • vehicle information

Do Nebraska bonded titles expire? 

Yes, your lost title bond will expire 3 years from its effective date and won't need to be renewed. After 3 years you can request the notice of bonded title be removed and a new title be issued by submitting an Application for Release of Notice on Bonded Title to the DMV or an Application for Certificate of Title to your county treasurer's office.

How do Nebraska residents apply for a bonded title?

  1. Verify if a Nebraska title already exists for your vehicle by submitting an Application for Copy of Vehicle Record to the address indicated on the form. 
  2. Verify there are no open liens on the vehicle. If there are, they must be formally released before you can proceed with your bonded title application.
  3. Purchase your lost title bond in the correct required amount. 
  4. Submit your Application for a Bonded Certificate of Title, official surety bond, all supporting ownership documentation, and the $50 application fee to the DMV.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert