Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a Nebraska certificate of title bond cost?
The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles requires that individuals who own a motor vehicle or motorboat and have a missing or invalid title post a surety bond. Before coming to SuretyBonds.com, applicants must know their required bond amount, which will be twice the appraised value of the vehicle. Typically, applicants can have their vehicles appraised at their local DMV office.
SuretyBonds.com offers three-year Nebraska certificate of title surety bonds for varying prices, depending on the required bond amount. Applicants for motor vehicle title bonds in amounts less than $6,000 will pay just $100 — no credit check required! Bonds between $6,000 and $25,000 will also be issued without a credit check; these are issued at a rate of $15 per every $1,000 of the required bond amount. Bonds in amounts greater than $25,000 are subject to underwriting consideration.
Let our surety experts get you bonded quickly, easily, and accurately. Submit a bond request to get started!
Why do I need a Nebraska certificate of title bond?
Nebraska certificate of title surety bonds for vehicles are required under the provisions of Nebraska Revised Statutes 60-167, and Nebraska certificate of title bonds for motorboats are required under the provisions of Nebraska Revised Statutes 37-1278.01. The Department of Motor Vehicles requires these bonds before a certificate of title is issued.
The bond indemnifies any prior owner and lienholder, any subsequent purchaser of the motorboat/vehicle in question, or any person acquiring any security interest in it and their successors against any expense, loss, or damage — including reasonable attorney’s fees — incurred by the issuance of the certificate of title for the vehicle/motorboat.
Please note that this bond is required if you have lost or obtain insufficient evidence of proper ownership of your vehicle. If you are planning to sell cars and other vehicles, a Nebraska motor vehicle dealer bond is required.
Considerations for Nebraska title bonds
For motorboat certificate of title bonds, the boat’s make, year, model, hull identification number, hull length, and hull material must be listed on the bond form. For vehicle certificate of title bonds, the vehicle’s make, year model, model, vehicle identification number, and body type must be listed on the bond form.
The bond remains in full force and effect for three years from the date of issuance.
How to obtain a Nebraska certificate of title bond
Follow these steps to obtain your certificate of title bond in Nebraska:
Request a search through the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
- Complete an Application for Copy of Vehicle Record
- Submit the application, along with a $1.00 fee, to 301 Centennial Mall South. P.O. Box 94789, Lincoln, NE 68509-4789.
If the vehicle was purchased in person in Nebraska, you will need a Bill of Sale.
- If the vehicle was not purchased in person in the state of Nebraska, a record search will be conducted through the Department of Motor Vehicles to access the sale information and location.
- If there is an existing title, you will need to send the following to the owner of record at his or her last known address: certified letter, return receipt requested. The letter must note that you are the current owner and that the title must be duplicated and reassigned so you have documented ownership of the vehicle.
- If there is an open lien, you must send a letter with the following to the lienholder: certified letter, return receipt requested. The letter must explain that you are the current owner of the vehicle and request a lien release so you can obtain the vehicle’s title. If the lien is 10 years old or older, the lien may be released 30 days after the date the letter is mailed. If it is less than 10 years old and there is an acceptable lien release, the title will not be obtained or issued. If there is no titled owner, you must send a letter to the person or business where you acquired the vehicle asking that they provide a properly assigned title. This letter must include: certified letter, return receipt requested.
All entities, the titled owner, the lienholder if one exists, and the person or business where you acquired the vehicle must be granted 30 days to respond to the above requests.
- If you do not receive a response during this period of time, you may proceed with your application for a bonded title unless there's a requirement for a lien release.
Submit a copy of the letter and return receipt to the Department, along with your Application for a Bonded Certificate of Title.
- Submit the $50 application and title fee, as well as your title bond, with this application.
Ready to get started?
Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles Bonded Certificate of Title - Motor Vehicle/Trailer