Nevada Notary Bond

Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 options below. Protect yourself from potential financial loss by including errors and omissions coverage with your bond.


$5,000 Errors & Omissions




$10,000 Errors & Omissions



$30,000 Errors & Omissions

We offer 24/7 instant email delivery. Buy your bond now to get it within 6 minutes!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a notary bond cost in Nevada?

Nevada notary bonds cost $50 for the state-required 4-year term and include $5,000 of errors and omissions insurance coverage. You can add additional errors and omissions insurance coverage to ensure you aren't liable for mistakes made while notarizing documents.

How do I get a Nevada notary bond?

Choose which errors and omissions insurance policy you'd like for your Nevada notary package. Enter your name and county to match your notary application for Secretary of State approval. Your official bond will be delivered to your email instantly once you submit payment.

How fast can I get a notary public surety bond? offers instant delivery for Nevada notary bonds 24/7. Purchase now to receive your official bond delivered in minutes by email.

Bond Type
$10,000Notary Bond with $5,000 Errors & Omissions$5,000 Errors & Omissions
$10,000Notary Bond with $10,000 Errors & Omissions$10,000 Errors & Omissions
$10,000Notary Bond with $30,000 Errors & Omissions$30,000 Errors & Omissions

What is a Nevada notary bond?

Nevada Revised Statutes 240.033 requires individuals file a 4-year $10,000 surety bond to become a commissioned notary. By filing this bond, the notary public agrees to perform their duties according to law. If they fail to do so, the surety company will pay valid claims up to the full $10,000 bond amount, which the bonded notary must then reimburse.

Who commissions notaries in Nevada?

The Nevada Secretary of State Notary Division requires individuals be commissioned before performing notarial acts or providing notary service. Individuals will file their notary public surety bond with the county in which they reside.

Why do I need a notary public bond?

By filing, a notary public surety bond you agree to avoid the following acts specifically prohibited by Nevada law.

  • Accepting payments beyond authorized fees for notarial acts, such as excess commission, advantages, titles, interest, or property
  • Knowing that a customer's signature on a notarized document has been forged
  • Influencing a person to engage in an unlawful transaction
  • Allowing others to use a notary stamp or forge a signature
  • Certifying a document containing information known by the notary to be false
  • Certifying photocopies of birth, death, or marriage certificates or divorce decrees
  • Performing notarial acts on documents that are not entirely filled out or signed

How do I update or change my notary bond form?

If the Nevada Secretary of State requests an update to your bond documentation for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes requested include updating your individual notary name or commissioned county.

How do I renew my notary public bond?

You'll need to renew your Nevada notary bond whenever your current 4-year commission term ends. Once you pay your renewal invoice, a new Nevada notary package will be sent to you.

How do I become a notary in Nevada?

You must meet the following requirements set by the Nevada Secretary of State.

  • be at least 18 years old
  • be a Nevada resident
  • have no prior felony convictions
  • never have had a notary commission revoked in another state
  • enroll in training

Nevada notary applicants must complete a 3-hour online training course through the Nevada Notary Division, pass the exam, and file a $10,000 surety bond with their county clerk's office.

You must submit an online notary application and filing notice from the county clerk and pay a $35 application fee and $45 training fee through the Secretary of State SilverFlume portal.

How do I become an electronic notary public (eNotary) in Nevada?

You must already be a commissioned notary in Nevada before becoming an electronic notary public in the state.

  1. Log in to the SilverFlume portal to register for the electronic notary training course ($45 fee) and pay the $50 eNotary registration fee.
  2. Complete the electronic notary training course, and pass the final exam with a score of 75% or higher.
  3. Obtain an electronic signature and seal from an approved eNotary technology solution provider.
  4. Upload the PDF version of your electronic signature and seal supplied by the eNotary technology solution provider.

You don't need to purchase an additional notary bond to be an electronic notary. Both of your commissions will expire congruently no matter when you registered as an electronic notary.

Processing an eNotary registration takes up to 3 weeks. The Nevada Notary Division will email your approval, which you'll need to submit to your technology solution provider. You cannot complete electronic or remote notarization until you've received your approval confirmation.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert