How much does a $10,000 notary public surety bond cost in Nevada?
A $10,000 Nevada notary bond is issued instantly for as little as $50 and includes errors and omissions coverage. Including errors and omissions insurance with your bond ensures you are not held personally liable for mistakes made while notarizing documents. Visit our blog for more information on this essential coverage.
Simply click Buy Now below to visit our secure bond checkout and purchase your bond online today. It only takes a few minutes to become bonded as a notary in Nevada.
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost|
|$10,000 Notary Bond $5,000 Errors and Omissions||$10,000||$50|
|$10,000 Notary Bond $10,000 Errors and Omissions||$10,000||$70|
|$10,000 Notary Bond $30,000 Errors and Omissions||$10,000||$90|
Why do I need a notary bond in Nevada?
A Nevada notary bond provides financial protection to the public if a commissioned notary violates the public’s trust through a negligence of duties without funds being available to reimburse those who suffer losses. Notaries will be held liable, and a claim may be made against their bond if they are found to have engaged in any of the following acts:
- Accepting payments besides authorized fees for notarial acts, such as excess commission, advantages, titles, interest, or property
- Knowing that a customer’s signature on a notarized document has been forgedInfluencing a person to engage in an unlawful transaction
- Allowing others to use a notary stamp or forge a signature
- Certifying a document containing information known by the notary to be false
- Certifying photocopies of birth, death, or marriage certificates or divorce decrees
- Performing notarial acts on documents that are not entirely filled out or signed
How do I become a Nevada notary public?
To become a notary public in Nevada, individuals must meet the following requirements set by the Nevada Secretary of State:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Be Nevada resident
- Have no prior felony convitions
- Have never had a notary commission revoked in another state
Additionally, Nevada notary applicants must complete a three-hour online training course through the Nevada Notary Division, pass the exam, and file a $10,000 surety bond with the applicant’s county clerk’s office. Finally, applicants must submit an online notary application and the filing notice from the county clerk and pay a $35 application fee and $45 training fee through the Secretary of State’s SilverFlume portal.
How do I become an electronic notary public (eNotary) in Nevada?
An individual must be a commissioned notary in Nevada to become an electronic notary public in the state. Additionally, eNotary applicants must:
- Log in to their SilverFlume portal to register for the electronic notary training course ($45 fee) and pay the $50 eNotary registration fee.
- Complete the electronic notary training course and pass the final exam with a score of 75% or higher.
- Obtain an electronic signature and seal from an approved eNotary technology solution provider.
- Upload the PDF version of their electronic signature and seal supplied by the eNotary technology solution provider.
Applicants do not need to purchase an additional notary bond to serve as an electronic notary and both commissions expire congruently, regardless of when the applicant registers as an electronic notary.
Processing an eNotary registration takes up to three weeks. The Nevada Notary Division will email a confirmation of approval to be submitted to the eNotary’s technology solution provider. Electronic and remote notarization is prohibited until confirmation has been received.
Additional steps to perform remote notarization in Nevada
Those wishing to conduct remote notarial acts as a Nevada eNotary must provide the Notary Division with a description of the audiovisual communication equipment intended for notarial acts. The equipment must transmit a real-time signal, record the electronic notarial act, and allow all parties to speak to each other simultaneously.
Things to know before purchasing a Nevada notary bond
Nevada notary surety bonds are required by the Nevada Secretary of State and are valid for four years. Notice must be given at least 30 days prior to cancellation, whether cancellation is due to expiration, suspension, or revocation of license.
The applicant must specify in which city the bond is to be executed. If a notary public changes mailing addresses, place of business, or signature during the period in which the bond is in effect, the individual must submit a request for an amended certificate of appointment with a $10 fee.