generic bond icon

New Jersey Detective Agency License Bond

Select Bond For Price
We offer 24/7 instant email delivery. Buy your bond now to get it within 6 minutes!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much will my New Jersey detective agency bond cost?

Detective agency license bonds are required by the Superintendent of the State of Police of New Jersey and must be in the amount of $3,000 for an individual and $5,000 for a corporation or firm. issues these two-year bonds instantly for just $100! Simply click Buy Now to purchase your bond online via our secure bond checkout. In just a few minutes you can be on your way to getting bonded as a detective agent or agency in New Jersey.

Bond Type
$3,000Detective Agency License BondIndividual License
$5,000Detective Agency License BondCompany License

Why do I need this bond?

New Jersey detective agency bonds ensure that principals (detective agencies) adhere to all of the provisions of the New Jersey Revised Statutes 45:19-8 to 45:19-27. Under this bond, principals cannot unlawfully enter into a home, buy or receive stolen property or carry a weapon or firearm without the appropriate permit.

What’s the fine print?

Detective agency bonds are required by the Superintendent of the State of Police of New Jersey and remain valid for two years from the effective date. This bond may be canceled at any time if the surety provides the superintendent 30 days’ prior notice.

How to start a detective agency in New Jersey

All applications to be licensed as a detective agency in New Jersey must be submitted to the Superintendent of State Police. Applications must include the following information to be accepted:

  • Address of agency
  • Full legal name of principal
  • Written consent for background check
  • Fingerprints of principal

All businesses must pay a $300 license fee for each location of business. Licenses are valid for two years. To renew a license, a business must submit a $250 renewal fee for each location.

No license will be issued to any person under the age of 25 or to any director or officer of a detective agency who does not have at least five years’ experience as a police officer or as an investigator for the state.

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert