generic bond icon

North Carolina Certificate of Title Bond

Price Varies / 3 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a North Carolina certificate of title bond cost? 

North Carolina certificate of title bond costs start at $100. The exact cost will vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles.

  • Bond amounts up to $5,000 cost $100.
  • Bond amounts from $5,001 to $25,000 cost $20 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.
  • Bond amounts from $25,001 to $50,000 cost $15 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $375.
  • Bond amounts for more than $50,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $750.

How do I get a certificate of title bond in North Carolina? 

You can buy a North Carolina certificate of title bond online 24/7. You must provide the following information for Division of Motor Vehicles approval.

  • name as it appears on your driver's license
  • county
  • vehicle identification number (VIN) 
  • year
  • make
  • body type

Once your payment is received, your official title bond documents will be delivered to your email.

How fast can I get a vehicle indemnity bond? offers instant North Carolina indemnity surety bond delivery 24/7. Purchase now to receive your official title bond delivered in minutes by email.

If your bond amount is higher than $25,000, your purchase order will be reviewed by a team member before your documents are emailed.

Bond Type
$100-$5,000Certificate of Title Bond
$5,001-$25,000Certificate of Title Bond
$25,001-$50,000Certificate of Title Bond
$50,001-$300,000Certificate of Title Bond

What is a North Carolina certificate of title indemnity bond?

North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 20 Section 76 requires individuals with insufficient proof of vehicle ownership file a surety bond during vehicle registration. The bond form is titled "Indemnity Bond (N.C. General Statute 20-76)," but most people refer to these bonds as "certificate of title bonds" or just "title bonds" when registering their vehicles. The North Carolina DMV requires these bonds be filed within 30 days.

This title bond protects previous owners, lien holders, or future vehicle owners from losses or damages caused by the new certificate of title issuance. If a valid claim is made against the bond, the surety company will pay up to the full bond amount. The bonded vehicle owner must then reimburse the surety company.

Who needs a lost title bond?

You'll need a surety bond if you don't have a certificate of title for a vehicle you legally own. Vehicles do not qualify for a lost title bond if they:

  • were found abandoned
  • have either a mechanics or storage lien
  • have an outstanding lien that cannot be canceled
  • aren't registered in North Carolina for vehicle owner who does not reside in the state
  • are considered parts-only, non-rebuildable, or junked
  • were not titled by the insurance company after being declared a total loss

Who registers vehicles in North Carolina?

The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles regulates vehicle registration for vehicles in the state. The DMV enforces requirements for missing title registration and manages paperwork for vehicle title applications.

Please note this bond is required if you have insufficient evidence of ownership for your vehicle title. If you plan to sell vehicles, a North Carolina motor vehicle dealer bond is required.

How do I determine my required bond amount?

Your bond amount must be 1.5 times the vehicle's value as determined by a vehicle appraisal inspection. If you need help determining your exact required surety bond amount, contact the DMV before purchasing your car title bond.

How do I update my indemnity bond form?

If the DMV requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety company. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. 

The most common changes for these bonds include updating the: 

  • vehicle owner’s name
  • county
  • vehicle information

Does your North Carolina bonded title expire?

North Carolina bonded titles remain valid for 3 years from the date of issuance. The DMV will return the bond to the bonded vehicle owner at expiration if the valid title is provided to the Division or if the vehicle is no longer registered in North Carolina.

How do I get a North Carolina bonded title?

Applicants must complete all steps required by the North Carolina DMV (NCDMV).

  1. Complete vehicle inspection requirements. Title Application (MVR-1) and Affidavit of Facts must be submitted at the time of inspection.
  2. Get a vehicle appraisal. Appraisals are done by any NCDMV license plate agency, or by calling the NCDMV Customer Contact Center at (919) 715-7000.
  3. Purchase and file an indemnity bond.
  4. Put the vehicle through an emissions inspection. Before a license plate can be issued, an authorized inspection station must pass the vehicle in its inspection.
  5. Pay the required taxes and fees.

How can North Carolina residents avoid claims against lost title bonds? 

To avoid claims, vehicle owners should verify the following before purchasing and filing a lost title bond.

  • They are the vehicle's sole legal owner.
  • The vehicle does not have an open lien.
  • The vehicle was not acquired fraudulently.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert