North Carolina Insurance Broker Bond

Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 50% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.


1 year term



2 year term - save $50.00!



3 year term - save $100.00!

Want your bond emailed to you today? Buy your bond within 2 hrs 22 min!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does an insurance broker bond cost in North Carolina?

An insurance broker bond in North Carolina costs $100 and is issued instantly. Simply click Buy Now to visit our secure bond checkout where you can purchase your bond directly from our site. In just a few minutes you can be on your way to getting bonded as an insurance broker in North Carolina.

Bond Type
$15,000(Retired) Insurance Broker Bond

Why do I need a broker insurance bond?

The North Carolina Department of Insurance requires insurance brokers to post a surety bond in the amount of $15,000 before commencing business operations.

By purchasing an insurance broker bond in North Carolina, the principal (broker) pledges that his or her duties will be completed in compliance with the terms stated in the North Carolina General Statutes 58-33-25 and 58-33-30. Specifically, this bond ensures that the broker will fulfill all contracts entered into with clients and handle all monies and insurance policies ethically and lawfully.

How long does an insurance broker bond last?

North Carolina insurance broker bonds remain in effect during the term of the license. If the surety chooses to terminate the bond, 30 days’ notice prior to cancellation must be given to the state. The notice must be submitted in writing and filed with the Commissioner and the licensee.

The applicant’s national producer number (NPN) must be on the surety bond form.

How to become an insurance broker in North Carolina

In addition to posting a surety bond, applicants in North Carolina must hold an insurance license to legally do business as an insurance broker, and may only act as an insurance broker for lines in which they are licensed. Insurance brokers must follow these additional licensing steps:

  1. The applicant must submit an electronic application at with the National Insurance Producer Registry, which the NIPR then sends electronically to the North Carolina Licensing Office
  2. The applicant must print the fingerprinting form sent to them by the NIPR and bring it to a local law enforcement office that does Live Scan electronic fingerprints.
  3. The law enforcement officer then signs the SBI Electronic Fingerprint Release of Information form, which must be faxed to the North Carolina Licensing Office of Pearson Vue.
  4. The Live Scan fingerprints are sent electronically to the SBI by the North Carolina Licensing Office for a state and national crime check.
  5. The North Carolina Licensing Office must then receive the following from the applicant:
    a. Completed fingerprint packet
    b. SBI/FBI criminal history
    c. NIPR application/fees
  6. Pay the $50 license fee and $44 application processing fee. All fees can be paid via credit/debit card, electronic check, or PayPal.

How to renew your broker registration

Many licenses from the NIPR renew annually by paying the $50 for a registration fee with a $34 reinstatement processing fee on the NIPR website. The NIPR will send a reminder e-mail to the address in their files near the license’s expiration date.

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert