Closed Monday 5/27 for Memorial Day

North Carolina Loan Broker Bond

Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.


1 year term



2 year term - save $25.00!



3 year term - save $50.00!

Want your bond tomorrow? Buy your bond within 5 hrs 55 min and choose overnight shipping at checkout!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a loan broker bond cost in North Carolina?

Loan brokers in North Carolina must post a surety bond in the amount of $10,000.

Because these bonds are subject to underwriting consideration, the price you’ll pay for your bond depends on a review of your personal credit report. Applicants with strong financial credentials could pay as low as $100 for their bonds. Request your free bond quote now!

Bond Type
$10,000Loan Broker Bond

Why do I need this bond?

By posting a North Carolina loan broker surety bond, principals (loan brokers) pledge to comply with the provisions of the North Carolina Loan Broker Disclosure Act. Prohibited business practices under this bond include, but are not limited to:

  • Using any untrue or misleading statements in connection with a loan brokerage contract
  • Failing to comply with the requirements of the Article
  • Failing to comply with the terms of the contract or any obligation arising from it
  • Failing to make diligent effort to grant a loan to the prospective borrower
  • Collecting any advance fees or other valuable consideration from a borrower prior to the closing of the loan

What’s the fine print?

Loan broker bonds in North Carolina remain in full force and effect until canceled or violated. The surety can cancel the bond by giving written notice of cancellation to the principal and the Secretary of State. Cancellation becomes effective 30 days after the surety provides the notice.

How to become a loan broker in North Carolina

There are several types of loan-related licenses available to professionals in North Carolina. Companies can be licensed as:

  • Mortgage brokers
  • Mortgage lenders
  • Mortgage servicers

Individuals can be licensed as:

  • Exclusive mortgage brokers
  • Mortgage loan originators
  • Transitional mortgage loan originators

Branch licenses are also available. Find out more about state licensing requirements in North Carolina on the NMLS Resource Center website.

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert