generic bond icon

North Dakota Sales and Use Tax Bond

Select Bond For Price
Want your bond emailed to you Thursday, May 23? Buy your bond within 23 hrs 36 min!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a sales and use tax bond cost in North Dakota?

The North Dakota Office of the State Tax Commissioner requires businesses that make taxable retail sales of goods and services to post sales and use tax permit bonds.

North Dakota sales and use tax permit bond amounts vary and are determined by the state on a case-to-case basis. Bond amounts are usually determined by the volume of taxed merchandise sold by the applicant. Applicants should verify their required bond amount with the state prior to bonding.

Tax bonds up to $25,000 are issued at a rate of $20 per $1,000 of the bond's amount, with a minimum amount of $100. Bonds in an amount greater than $25,000 are bonds are subject to underwriting, so the amount you’ll pay depends on a review of your personal credit report.

Our experts can typically provide free, no-obligation bond quotes within 1 business day of submitting your application. Get started now!

Bond Type
$100-$25,000Sales and Use Tax Bond
$25,001-$100,000Sales and Use Tax Bond

Give us a call at 1 (800) 308-4358 or submit a bond request to begin our fast and easy bonding process.

Why do I need this bond?

By posting a sales and use tax permit bond, principals (retailers and service providers) pledge to file all reports required by the sales and use tax laws of the state and make full payment of any and all sales and use taxes that are due or that become due to the state under the provisions of the sales and use tax laws of North Dakota. The bond protects the state from financial loss if the principal fails to uphold this pledge.

You’ll receive your personalized, complimentary bond quote within 1 business day of applying when you work with

What’s the fine print?

Sales and use tax bonds in North Dakota are continuous until canceled. All original bond forms must be notarized by a notary public and sent to the Office of the State Tax Commissioner.

How to acquire a sales and use tax permit in North Dakota

To obtain a sales and use tax permit, applicants must submit a completed application for income tax withholding and sales and use tax permit to the Office of the State Tax Commissioner.

More permit information can be accessed from the Additional Resources section of this page. Rely on for all of your bonding needs. Start the bonding process now!!

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert