Closed Monday 5/27 for Memorial Day

generic bond icon

Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond

Select Bond For Price

SECURE

Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.

BEST PRICES

We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.

FAST

We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a motor vehicle dealer bond cost in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma motor vehicle dealer bond costs start at $125 annually for both the used motor vehicle dealer bond and wholesale motor vehicle dealer bond. Your personal premium will be provided after a quick application review. State law requires these bonds expire annually on December 31st of odd-numbered years, so your exact premium will be based on when you purchase your bond.

How do you get an Oklahoma auto dealer bond?

You can apply for your free Oklahoma auto dealer surety bond quote online 24/7. Simply select which license and bond type you need and provide the following information for Used Motor Vehicle, Dismantler, and Manufactured Housing Commission approval.

  • dealer or dealership name
  • physical business address
  • dealer license number, if available 

Once you've paid your invoice, your official Oklahoma auto dealer bond will be shipped to your preferred mailing address.

How fast can I get an auto dealer bond?

Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allows us to offer free quotes and deliver your official Oklahoma dealer bond faster than any other surety company. The state requires your Oklahoma auto dealer bond be physically issued and shipped to you, so choose overnight shipping during checkout if you're in a rush. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically shipped same-day.

If you have questions about Oklahoma auto dealer bonds or your application, call 1 (800) 308-4358 to speak with a friendly surety expert. We're here to guide you through the Oklahoma dealer bond process so you can get back to running your business.

Bond Type
$25,000Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond
$25,000Wholesale Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond

What is the purpose of the Oklahoma auto dealer bond?

Oklahoma Legislation 47 O.S. § 583 requires a $25,000 surety bond be filed by used vehicle dealers and wholesaler dealers before they can be licensed to work in the state. The bond provides financial protection to individuals who experience any loss or damage as a result of dealer fraud.

Why do you need an Oklahoma motor vehicle dealer bond? 

When you purchase and file your car dealer bond, you agree to operate your business according to the provisions outlined in the Oklahoma used motor vehicle dealer laws. If you fail to do so, the issuing surety company will pay valid claims up to the full $25,000 bond amount, which you must then reimburse. 

Who are the parties involved in the Oklahoma motor vehicle bond?

As the “obligee,” the Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle, Dismantler, and Manufactured Housing Commission enforces licensing and bonding requirements for auto dealers in the state. As the “principal,” the auto dealer or dealership purchases and files the bond as a guarantee of their professional obligations. As the “surety,” the insurance company issues the bond to back the principal's obligations to work according to state laws.

Who needs an Oklahoma auto dealer bond?

All vehicle dealers looking to become licensed in the state must purchase, file, and maintain a surety bond for their motor vehicle dealer license. If you have questions about the state's motor vehicle industry licensing process, you can contact them by phone at 1 (405) 521-3600 or by email at [email protected]

How do I update or change my vehicle dealer bond form?

If the Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle, Dismantler, and Manufactured Housing Commission requires your bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. 

The most common changes for these bonds include:

  • dealer or dealership name
  • physical business address
  • dealer license number

How do you renew your Oklahoma auto dealer bond?

To keep your Oklahoma auto dealer license active and in good standing, you must renew your bond before it expires on December 31st of odd-numbered years. Once you pay your SuretyBonds.com renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be emailed to you to keep your bond active for your next license term. 

How do dealers apply for a motor vehicle dealer license in Oklahoma?

Learn How To Get An Oklahoma Auto Dealer License by reviewing our comprehensive guide.

To become a licensed dealer, you must complete the application for the motor vehicle industry license you need, which includes the following fees.

  • Used Motor Vehicle Dealer: $200 
  • Used Motor Vehicle Dealer: $600 (Franchised)
  • Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Auction: $600
  • Wholesale Motor Vehicle Dealer: $600
  • Secondary Location: $200 

In addition to purchasing and filing a $25,000 Oklahoma surety bond, you must provide the following with your application packet. 

  • completed Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigations report
  • personal history questionnaire
  • copy of your Oklahoma driver's license
  • current business financial statement for the dealership, if applicable
  • proof of garage liability insurance
  • current business certificate of incorporation or LLC
  • pictures of the business office and sign
  • proof of a functioning business phone 
  • sales document copies to be used
  • inspection approval documentation
  • educational program attendance verification

Used motor vehicle dealerships must also submit applicable city/county permits and register each individual salesperson.

Once completed, submit your application and supporting documents to: 

Oklahoma Used Used Motor Vehicle, Dismantler, and Manufactured Housing Commission
421 NW 13th St  
Suite 330
Oklahoma City, OK 73103

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert