Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does an Oregon construction contractor license bond cost?
An Oregon construction contractor license bond typically costs 1-1.2% of the total bond amount; however, the exact cost may be determined by an underwriter’s review of the contractor’s credit.
These bonds are required by the Oregon Construction Contractors Board, or CCB, to ensure that contractors stay true to their contractual agreements and lawfully abide by all laws stated in the Oregon Revised Statutes.
Oregon Commercial Construction Contractor Bond Information
Oregon commercial general contractor bonds are split into two categories: Level 1 and Level 2. Level 1 contractors must have eight years of construction experience and post a $75,000 bond, while Level 2 contractors must have four years of experience and post a $20,000 bond. General contractors can supervise or perform any number of commercial construction projects.
Commercial specialty contractor bonds in Oregon are also split up into Level 1 and Level 2 categories. Eight years of experience and a $50,000 bond are required for Level 1 contractors, and four years of experience and a $20,000 bond are required for Level 2 contractors. Specialty contractors can only work on one or two commercial projects at any given time.
Oregon commercial contractors must meet the following criteria to receive a commercial contractor license:
- Own all properties they plan to work on
- Work on or improve properties they plan to sell
- Work side by side with another licensed contractor to oversee all levels of the construction activity
Request a free online quote today to get bonded!
Oregon Residential Construction Contractor Bond Information
Residential general contractor bonds in Oregon allow contractors to supervise and perform residential construction work. General residential contractors must post a $20,000 bond.
Oregon residential specialty contractors must post a $15,000 bond. Specialty contractors in a residential setting can only work on one or two unrelated projects. However, if they work on a single property, they may work on three or more buildings as long as labor and material costs amount to less than $2,500.
Residential limited contractors in Oregon can supervise an unlimited number of building projects only if the following criteria is met:
- Applicant expects gross sales to be less than $40,000
- No contract is written for more than $5,000
- The value of any work doesn’t exceed $5,000 for a job site in one year
- CCB can access tax records to verify compliance to all applicable laws
If all these requirements are met, the necessary bond amount is $10,000. This classification is also necessary for part-time contractors.
Oregon residential developer bonds must be posted in the amount of $20,000. In order to obtain this bond and license classification, the following criteria must be met:
- Applicant owns properties
- Applicant intends to sell properties
- Applicant works with one or more general contractors who oversee jobsite building
- Applicant performs no work on the site
Residential restoration contractors must file a $10,000 bond, pursuant to Section 2, Chapter 701 of the Oregon Revised Statutes. The rule defines the following services as examples of restoration work for residential restoration contractors:
- Non-routine cleaning, water removal, or personal property inventory
- Board-up services (covering up openings of a damaged structure to prevent unauthorized entry and to secure against weather)
- Debris removal (excluding removal involving demolition work)
How to obtain an Oregon contractor’s license
Anyone who works in any construction activity on real property for compensation is required by Oregon law to be licensed. Follow these steps to obtain an Oregon contractor’s license:
- Determine the types of structures you will work on, which will identify the license endorsement you need to carry.
- Complete the training and pass the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors.
- Register your business with the Oregon Secretary of State. Your filing must be submitted to the Oregon Secretary of State’s Corporation Division; you can call 1 (503) 986-2200 for more information.
- Submit your CCB surety bond.
- Provide verification of your business’s general liability insurance. If you have employees working within your business, you will also need to obtain worker’s compensation insurance. For more information, visit the Oregon Workers' Compensation Division website, call 1 (503) 947-7810, or contact an insurance agent.
- Acquire any other needed employer account numbers, such as state and federal tax IDs.
- Complete and submit the commercial, residential, or dual application. When submitting your application, you must include your surety bond, insurance certificate, and the $250 fee for a two-year license.
Need a surety bond for a construction project?
What are the requirements of an Oregon Construction Contractor Bond?
Oregon contractor bonds are continuous until canceled. If the surety decides to cancel a bond, the surety must provide the Oregon Construction Contractors Board with written notice 30 days prior to termination.
Once the bond form is filled out, the bond must be sent to the contractor, not the Oregon Construction Contractors Board. The bond must be submitted with the license application. If the bond is not filed with the application to the Board within 60 days of the sign-and-seal date, the bond will no longer be considered valid.