Closed Monday 5/27 for Memorial Day

Oregon Private Detective Bond

Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.

$100.00

1 year term

BUY NOW

$175.00

2 year term - save $25.00!

BUY NOW

$250.00

3 year term - save $50.00!

BUY NOW
We offer 24/7 instant email delivery. Buy your bond now to get it within 6 minutes!

SECURE

Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.

BEST PRICES

We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.

FAST

We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does an Oregon private detective bond cost?

The Oregon private detective bond costs $100 annually. You can save money by choosing our multi-year discount to extend your private detective license bond term during checkout!

How do I get an Oregon private investigator bond?

You can purchase your Oregon private investigator bond online 24/7. Simply choose your preferred bond term and provide your professional investigator or private detective name for Department of Public Safety Standards and Training filing approval. Once your payment has been processed, your official Oregon surety bond will be emailed to you instantly.  

How fast can I get a private detective surety bond?

SuretyBonds.com offers instant emailed Oregon private detective bond delivery 24/7. Purchase now to receive your official private investigator surety bond in minutes by email.

Bond Type
$5,000Private Detective Bond

What is an Oregon private detective bond? 

Oregon Revised Statute 703.415 requires individuals file a $5,000 surety bond before obtaining a private investigator or private detective license. The state's official form is titled the “State of Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training Surety Bond” but is more commonly known as the “private detective bond” or “private investigator bond.” This bond form specifically requires licensees perform all investigator work as defined in Oregon Revised Statutes Chapter 703 and pay all amounts ordered by the state resulting from any negligent/improper work or breach of contract. This bond form also forbids private investigators from disclosing personal information under ORS 802.179(18) except as permitted under ORS 802.181 or required by a court order.

Why do you need an Oregon private detective bond? 

You must purchase and file this surety bond to be licensed as a private investigator, private detective, detective agency, or investigation agency. By filing this bond, you agree to comply with Oregon Revised Statutes when providing investigative services. If you fail to do so, your issuing surety company will pay valid claims to the state or your clients up to your full $5,000 surety bond amount, which you must reimburse. 

Who regulates licensed investigators and private detectives?

The Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training Private Security and Private Investigators Program enforces licensing requirements for private detectives and private investigators who work in the state. If you have questions about your existing investigative service license, new private detective license, or criminal background check, you can contact the Program by calling 1(503)378-8531 or emailing [email protected]

The Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training requires this bond for state private investigation licensing. If you work as a private investigator in other states, we also offer private investigator bonds nationwide.  

How do I update or change my professional investigator bond form?

If the Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training requires your bond form to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your private investigation bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. The most common change requested is updating your name to match your existing Oregon private investigator license or new license application. 

How do I renew my Oregon private investigator bond?

You must renew your Oregon private investigator bond before its current term expires. Once you pay your SuretyBonds.com renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be provided to keep your bond active for your next licensed private investigator term.

How do I get my Oregon professional investigator or private detective license?

Complete the the following steps to apply for your professional investigator license in Oregon. 

  1. Fill out your PI-1 Application for Licensure and PI-27 form, which includes a $29 nonrefundable application/examination fee.
  2. Purchase and file your $5,000 Oregon private investigator bond.
  3. Provide fingerprints for a criminal background check, which includes a $46.25 nonrefundable fingerprint/criminal background check fee.
  4. Provide 3 letters of recommendation.
  5. Complete at least 1,500 hours of investigatory work experience or complete a related course of study approved by DPSST.
  6. Pass the Private Investigator Exam.
  7. Upload 2 photos. 
  8. Pay the $550 nonrefundable license fee.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert