$5,000 Private Detective Bond
Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.
1 year term
2 year term - save $25.00!
3 year term - save $50.00!
Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a $5,000 private investigator bond cost in Oregon?
A $5,000 private investigator bond in Oregon can be instantly issued for just $100. There is no underwriting required, so everyone qualifies at the same rate. Simply click Buy Now to purchase your bond online using our secure bond checkout. In just a few minutes, you can be on your way to getting bonded as a private detective or investigator in Oregon.
Why do I need this bond?
The Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training requires private detectives and investigators to post $5,000 surety bonds as a licensing requirement.
Oregon private detective surety bonds are put in place to ensure that principals (private investigators) conduct business according to the rules and regulations of the Oregon Revised Statutes, Chapters 703 and 802. Specifically, these bonds protect any person who is damaged as a result of the principal’s failure to perform or negligence in performing the duties of the license.
The validity of claims against this bond is determined by the State of Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training. If a claim is validated, the bond protects any person who suffers financial loss at the hands of the principal up to the full bond amount, and the principal must reimburse the surety for any damages paid out.
What’s the fine print?
Private investigator bonds in Oregon remain in effect as long as the principal remains in compliance with the terms of the surety bond contract. The bond becomes effective on the date that the principal meets all requirements for licensure or renewal.
The surety can cancel the bond by giving written notice of the impending cancellation to the principal and the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training at least 30 days prior to the effective cancellation date.
How to become a private investigator or detective in Oregon
Applicants must meet the following requirements to become licensed as a private investigator in Oregon:
- Pay required fees for a background check, exam, and licensure
- Pass required exam
- Submit surety bond
- Fulfill all education requirements
- Meet age, citizenship, and experience prerequisites
- Submit application form
- Provide professional letters of reference, fingerprints, and a photograph
Ready to get started?
Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert today.