How much does a health and fitness facility bond cost in South Carolina?
The Administrator of the Department of Consumer Affairs requires operators of physical fitness centers to post surety bonds in varying amounts. Applicants should verify their required bond amount with the state prior to bonding.
Because these bonds are subject to underwriting, and because the required amount and price of the bond can vary so much, the best way to find out how much you’ll pay for your South Carolina surety bond is to submit a bond request now. Our experts can typically provide free, no-obligation bond quotes within 1 business day of submitting a client’s application!
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost by Credit Score*|
|680 and up||679 - 600||599 or lower|
|Physical Fitness Bond||Varies||Starts at 1%||4-8%||10%+||Apply Now|
If you’re ready to become bonded quickly, easily and accurately, call SuretyBonds.com at 1 (800) 308-4358 or click here to fill out an online bond request form.
Why do I need this bond?
South Carolina physical fitness center bonds ensure that principals (fitness center operators) comply with the South Carolina Physical Fitness Services Act (South Carolina Code 44-79-10). Specially, the bond protects consumers if the fitness club fails to provide contracted/paid for services.
What’s the fine print?
Physical fitness center surety bonds in South Carolina can be terminated if the surety provides written notice of cancellation to the administrator stating that the liability ends 45 days from the date of the notice or upon written authorization mailed to the surety by the administrator.
The bond form must be notarized by a commissioned notary public.
How to start a health or fitness facility in South Carolina
A health or fitness facility in South Carolina must be certified before it can offer any services to consumers. The following items must be submitted at the time of application:
- copy of the most recent membership agreement
- copy of contract(s) to be used
- surety bond in the proper amount
- copy of rate sheet/price schedule for all physical fitness services offered
- Certificate of Authority
- application fee ($50 per location)
The application must be filed with the State of South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs, Physical Fitness Services.
Ready to get started?