generic bond icon

Tennessee BLC Contractor's License Bond

Select Bond For Price


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

What does a Tennessee BLC contractor's license bond cost?

Annual costs for the Tennessee contractor's license bond required by the Board for Licensing Contractors starts at $5,000. can even offer $500,000 bond amount approvals for a $5,000 annual premium and $1,000,000 bond amount approvals for a $10,000 annual premium without any personal or business financials. Your personal premium will be provided after a quick application review.

Note this Tennessee contractor's license bond is required for state BLC contractor licensing in lieu of a financial statement. Other Tennessee contractor bond types have different pricing. 

How do you get a Tennessee BLC contractor's license surety bond? 

You can apply for your Tennessee BLC contractor license bond online 24/7. You'll need to provide your contractor name and federal tax ID number for Board for Licensing Contractors filing approval. Once your order has been processed, you'll receive a copy of your Tennessee state license bond by email, and your official bond will be shipped to your preferred mailing address.

How fast can I get a contractor surety bond in lieu of financials? 

Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to deliver your official Tennessee contractor's license bond faster than any other surety company. The BLC requires your Tennessee contractor license bond be physically issued and shipped to you, so choose overnight shipping during checkout if you're in a rush. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically shipped same-day.

If you have questions about the Tennessee BLC contractor's license bond or your application, call 1(800)308-4358 to speak with a friendly surety expert. We're here to guide you through the contractor bonding process so you can get back to running your business.

Bond Type
$500,000Contractor's License BondMonetary limit is $1,500,000 or less
$1,000,000Contractor's License BondMonetary limit exceeds $1,500,000

Why do I need a Tennessee BLC contractor's license bond? 

Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors Rule 0680-01-.13 allows contractor license applicants at the state level to file a surety bond in lieu of a financial statement proving they meet the state's financial net worth licensing requirement. The state's official form is titled the “Contractor’s License Bond” but is also known as the “Tennessee contractor license bond.” This bond specifically requires the filing contractor to comply with the provisions of Contractor's License Law and Rules and Regulations Title 62.

Who needs a BLC contractor's license surety bond?

You need to purchase and file this surety bond if you do not meet the state's financial net worth licensing requirement or otherwise choose not to file paperwork with the state proving you meet the minimum financial net worth. If you meet the state's minimum net worth licensing requirement and provide the required financial statement to prove so, you do not need to complete this bonding process to get your state license as a contractor. 

Who will a contractor bond protect? 

This Tennessee BLC contractor's license bond form specifically protects any person who suffers damages resulting from a bonded contractor who breaches their construction contract or other contract related to their furnishing of labor, materials, or other professional construction services. Your issuing surety company will pay valid claims to harmed individuals up to your full surety bond amount as a result of your noncompliance, which you must reimburse. 

Who regulates Tennessee state level contractor licensing? 

The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance Board for Licensing Contractors enforces licensing requirements for contractors at the state level. You can contact the Board by calling 1(615)741-8307 or emailing [email protected]

The Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors requires this bond for state contractor licensing in lieu of a financial statement. We also offer other Tennessee contractor license bonds for separate state, city, and county contractor licensing requirements. 

Need a surety bond for a construction project in Tennessee?

Tennessee contractor bonds are required for licensing compliance. If you need a surety bond before you can begin work on an individual contracted project, you might need a bid bond, payment bond, performance bond, or other type of contract bond. If you work in states other than Tennessee, we also offer contractor license bonds nationwide.

How do you update or change your contractor surety bond form? 

If the Board for Licensing Contractors requires your bond to be updated for any reason, contact your surety company. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. The most common changes requested are updating your name to match how it appears on your new contractor license application or existing license. 

How do I renew my BLC Tennessee contractor license bond? 

You must renew your Tennessee contractor license bond before its current term expires. Once you pay your renewal invoice, instructions will be provided to keep your surety bond active for your next state level license term.

How do I apply for my Tennessee state contractor license? 

Complete the steps below to apply for your Tennessee contractor state license online.

  1. Complete the required exam through PSI, and pay the $55 exam fee.
  2. Provide a financial statement proving you meet the state's minimum net worth requirement. If your monetary limit is $1,500,000 or less, you need a reviewed financial statement. If your monetary limit is more than $1,500,000, you need an audited financial statement. Or, you can provide a guarantee agreement or surety bond bond in lieu of the financial statement. 
  3. Upload a completed reference letter from a client or employer that can contest to your work. 
  4. Show that you have purchased general liability insurance. 
  5. Register your business with the Secretary of State.
  6. Fill out the Contractor's Affidavit, which must be notarized.
  7. Pay the $250 application fee. 

What can Tennessee contractors do to avoid claims against your bond?

You can avoid claims against your bond by complying with Tennessee Law Chapter 6: Contractors and Contracting as outlined on your surety bond form. 

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert