Closed Monday 5/27 for Memorial Day

Tennessee Home Improvement Contractor Bond

Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.


1 year term



2 year term - save $25.00!



3 year term - save $50.00!

We offer 24/7 instant email delivery. Buy your bond now to get it within 6 minutes!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does the Tennessee home improvement contractor bond cost?

A Tennessee home improvement bond costs $100 for 1 year of coverage, $175 for 2 years of coverage, and $250 for 3 years of coverage.

How do I get a home improvement contractor bond in Tennessee?

Select the term length you would like and provide your name and address to buy your bond securely online in minutes. The name on the bond must appear as officially licensed with the state. If you need a bond for your corporation or LLC, your name should appear as registered with the Secretary of State.

Once your payment is received, your official bond documents will be delivered to your email.

How fast can I get my home improvement license bond? offers instant Tennessee home improvement contractor license surety bond delivery 24/7. Purchase now to receive your official bond delivered in minutes by email.

Bond Type
$10,000Home Improvement Contractor Bond

What is the purpose of the Tennessee home improvement contractor bond?

Tennessee Code Annotated Title 62, Chapter 6, Section 506 requires individuals file a $10,000 surety bond as part of the home improvement contractor licensing process. This bond ensures the principal (home improvement contractor) will adhere to applicable state laws that regulate the industry. If a contractor fails to do so and a consumer is harmed, a claim can be filed. The principal must reimburse the surety company for any claims paid out.

Home improvement contractors must maintain an active bond on file with the state for the duration of their license. The surety company can cancel the bond with 30 days' notice to the Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors. The state will keep the bond on file for 1 year after license deactivation or replacement.

Who regulates home improvement contractors in Tennessee?

The Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance Board for Licensing Contractors authorizes home improvement contractors licensed in the state to perform work that includes laying driveways, installing swimming pools, building porches or garages, roofing, and painting. Individuals and construction companies who work on projects that cost between $3,000 and $24,999 are licensed as home improvement contractors. Projects over $25,000 require a separate contractor's license.

Watch the video below to learn more about the licensing process for Tennessee home improvement contractors.

What counties require home improvement contractor bonds?

Home improvement contractors in these counties must purchase and file a $10,000 Tennessee surety bond as part of the licensing process.

  • Bradley
  • Davidson
  • Haywood
  • Hamilton
  • Knox
  • Marion
  • Robertson
  • Rutherford
  • Shelby

If you need a surety bond to get licensed as a contractor in a specific city, find the bond you need on our Tennessee contractor license bond page.

How do Tennessee home improvement contractors file your bond with the Tennessee DCI?

The Department of Commerce & Insurance (DCI) requires applicants to file and maintain a $10,000 Tennessee surety bond as part of the licensing process. Documents mailed to the DCI should sent be to the following mailing address.

Board for Licensing Contractors - Home Improvement
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1150

What can contractors do to avoid claims against the Tennessee home improvement contractor bond?

To avoid claims, home improvement contractors should fulfill all laws as outlined in Title 62, Chapter 6 of the Tennessee Code Annotated. If a bonded and licensed contractor fails to do so, a claim can be filed against their bond. Prohibited acts under 62-6-510 include, but are not limited to:

  • failing to complete a contract without consent of the owners
  • misrepresenting a contract
  • forging contract documentation
  • violating building, sanitary, or health laws
  • misrepresenting business ownership
  • failing to notify the state of an ownership change

How do I update or change my bond form?

If the Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance Board for Licensing Contractors requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes for these bonds include:

  • contractor/construction company name
  • contractor/construction company address

How do I renew my home improvement license bond?

Tennessee home improvement license bonds must be renewed whenever the current term expires. Once you pay your renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be emailed to ensure your status as a licensed contractor remains active.

How do home improvement contractors apply for a license in Tennessee?

Individuals must complete the following steps when preparing their applications.

  1. Pay the $250 2-year licensing fee.
  2. If an LLC or corporation, submit proof of registration with the Secretary of State.
  3. File a surety bond form with name as licensed.
  4. Provide proof of general liability insurance and workers' compensation insurance (unless you have no employees or subcontractors).
  5. Document your experience and references in a list.
  6. Prove your status as either a U.S. citizen, a qualified alien, or a foreign national not currently residing in the U.S. using acceptable documentation

The application packet contains a checklist to verify all relevant information is included. The board must approve the license at a public meeting.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert