Closed Monday 5/27 for Memorial Day

generic bond icon

Tennessee Certificate of Title Bond

Price Varies / 3 year term

SECURE

Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.

BEST PRICES

We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.

FAST

We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a certificate of title bond cost in Tennessee?

Tennessee certificate of title bond costs start at $100 for the state-required 3-year term. Exact costs vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the Department of Revenue.

  • Bond amounts less than $10,000 cost $100.
  • Bond amounts from $10,001 to $25,000 cost $10 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.
  • Bond amounts from $25,001 to $50,000 cost $15 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $375.
  • Bond amounts for more than $50,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $750.

How do I get a Tennessee lost title bond?

You can buy your lost title bond online 24/7 at SuretyBonds.com. You'll need to provide the following information for Department of Revenue approval.

  • vehicle owner name
  • address
  • vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • vehicle year, make, model, and body type

Once your payment is processed, your official title surety bond will be emailed to you instantly.

How fast can I get a vehicle title bond?

SuretyBonds.com offers instant Tennessee title bond delivery 24/7. Purchase now to receive your official bond delivered in minutes by email.

*Note: If your bond amount is higher than $25,000, your purchase order will be reviewed by a team member before your documents are emailed.

Bond Type
$100-$10,000Certificate of Title Bond
$10,001-$25,000Certificate of Title Bond
$25,001-$50,000Certificate of Title Bond
$50,001-$150,000Certificate of Title Bond

What is a Tennessee bonded title?

Tennessee Code Annotated 55-3-103 requires individuals without official vehicle ownership proof file a surety bond for registration. Bonded titles are used for vehicles, manufactured/mobile homes, trailers, ATVs, and golf carts missing their original titles. Tennessee form RV-F1313501 is officially titled the "Motor Vehicle TIT Corporate Surety Bond," but it's more commonly known as a "certificate of title surety bond," "lost title bond," or "bonded title."

Tennessee does not require title surety bonds for vehicles valued less than $3,000 or for vehicles more than 30 years old. If your vehicle is more than 30 years old or valued less than $3,000, you'll need to file a Certification of Ownership with the DOR. 

How do bonded titles work in Tennessee?

A bonded title protects previous owners, lienholders, and subsequent purchasers from fraud and financial loss. If the original vehicle title is found and a valid claim is made on the bond, the surety company will pay damages up to the full bond amount, which the bonded vehicle owner must then reimburse. 

Please note this bond is required for a vehicle title to be issued. If you plan to sell vehicles, a separate Tennessee motor vehicle dealer bond is required.

Who registers vehicles with missing motor vehicle identification certification?

The Tennessee Department of Revenue enforces vehicle registration requirements and processes duplicate/lost title applications. If you have questions about registering your vehicle or submitting a bonded title application, call 1 (888) 871-3171.

How do I determine my bond amount? 

Tennessee code requires your bond amount be 1.5 times the fair market vehicle value as determined by the DOR, which advises individuals use an online industry assessment resource or request an estimate from a licensed vehicle dealer. If you need help determining your exact required bond amount, contact the Department of Revenue before purchasing your bond.

How do Tennessee bonded title applicants file your bond?

File your signed surety bond, bonded title application, and any other required documents with your county clerk. Remember, you'll also need to pay any required fees and sales/use tax owed before your registration will be approved. If you have questions about filing your bond, email [email protected].

How do I update or change my vehicle title bond form?

If the DOR requires any updates to your surety bond documentation, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.

The most common changes for these bonds include:

  • vehicle information
  • vehicle owner name
  • address

Does your Tennessee bonded title expire?

Yes, your Tennessee certificate of title bond will expire at the end of its 3-year term and won't need to be renewed. 

How do Tennessee residents apply for a bonded title?

  1. Verify your vehicle is eligible for a bonded title with the Department of Revenue. You can also email bonded title questions to [email protected]
  2. Purchase your Tennessee certificate of title surety bond in the correct required amount.
  3. Submit your application, surety bond, surety bond approval letter, bill of sale, and any required fees and taxes to the county clerk for approval.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert