How much does a home improvement contractor bond cost in Tennessee?
Home improvement contractors in several Tennessee counties must purchase a $10,000 surety bond as part of the licensing process. These licenses are for contractors working on projects costing between $3,000 and $24,999; projects over $25,000 require a contractor’s license.
These bonds do not require a credit check and can be issued quickly and easily for just $100.Apply for your free bond quote now!
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost*|
|$10,000 Home Improvement Contractor License Bond||$10,000||$100||Buy Now|
Ready to purchase your Tennessee surety bond quickly and easily? Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or click here to get started! We can provide your free bond quote within 1 business day of submitting your application.
Why do I need this Bond?
Home improvement contractors need a license and a surety bond in these Tennessee counties:
Home improvement contractors can perform work that includes laying driveways, installing swimming pools, building porches or garages, roofing and painting. They cannot perform work that involves lead paint abatement, electrical, plumbing, HVAC, well drilling and security.
This bond ensures that the principal (home improvement contractor) will adhere to all state laws and the rules and regulations listed in Tennessee Code Annotated Title 62, Chapter 6, Section 506, in addition to completing all projects in accordance with the contractual agreement. If the principal violates the contract agreement and a consumer is harmed, a claim can be brought against the bond. If the claim is found to be valid, the surety will pay for all damages up to the full bond amount; however, the principal must reimburse the surety in a timely manner.
What’s the fine print?
Home improvement contractors need a bond on file with the state for the duration of their license. The bond is continuous until cancelled, and can be cancelled with 30-days notice to the Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors. In addition, the state will keep the bond on file for one-year after license deactivation or replacement.
How to become a licensed home improvement contractor in Tennessee
To obtain a home improvement contractor license, fill out the application packet (found under Important Links) and submit all the required materials. Information needed includes the following:
- $250 two-year licensing fee
- Proof of registration with Secretary of State
- Original surety bond form or proof of financial responsibility
- Proof of workers’ compensation insurance (unless you have no employees or subcontractors) and general liability insurance
- Experience and reference list
- Documentation proving your status as either a U.S. citizen, a qualified alien or a foreign national not currently residing in the U.S.
The application packet contains a checklist to verify that all the relevant information is included. The Board must approve the license at a public meeting. To have a license issued before the next meeting, include a written emergency request with the application.
Ready to get started?