generic bond icon

Texas Driver Education School Bond

Select Bond For Price


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a driver training school bond cost in Texas?

The Texas Education Agency requires driver training education providers to post surety bonds in varying amounts. Primary locations of driver training schools and driver course providers must post $10,000, while branch locations of driver training schools must post $5,000.

These bonds are subject to underwriting, so the price you’ll pay for your Texas surety bond is based on a soft review of your personal credit report. However, highly qualified applicants can be approved for as little as $100.

Bond Type
$10,000Driver Education School Bond
$5,000Driver Education Branch School Bond
$10,000Driver Safety Provider Bond

Ready to get bonded? We make it fast and easy. Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or submit a bond request now!

Why do I need this bond?

Texas driver education school bonds and course provider bonds are put in place to ensure that principals (driver education providers) and their officers, agents, and employees perform business in accordance with Sections 1001.201, 1001.206, 1001.209, 1001.401, 1001.451, and all other applicable sections of Title 5 of the Texas Education Code and all other rules and regulations set by the Commissioner of Education. Prohibited actions under this bond include:

  • operating a school that provides a driver education/safety course or operating as a course provider without the proper license
  • failing to develop a refund policy and regulations relating to absence, grading, and rules of operation/conduct
  • failing to provide a certificate of course completion to any person who successfully completes the course within 15 days of course completion
  • failing to comply with all county, municipal, state, and federal laws

If the principal fails to comply with these laws and the terms of the surety bond contract, the bond protects harmed parties from financial loss up to the full bond amount. The principal must reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.

Contact our team of surety bond experts now to receive your free bond quote within 1 business day.

What’s the fine print?

Course provider and driver education school bonds in Texas become effective on the date the course provider/school starts enrolling students, the day following the date of termination of the prior bond, or the effective date of the Driver Education School/Course Provider License, whichever happens first. These bonds remain in full force and effect until canceled or until the license expires.

The Commissioner of Education or the surety can cancel this bond at any time by giving written notice of cancellation via registered mail to the other party. Cancellation becomes effective 30 days after the notice is received.

How to start a driver education school in Texas

To become a licensed driver education school in Texas, applicants must do the following:

  • submit a complete application and fees
  • submit an assumed name registration from the county where the school will open
  • submit Certificate of Occupancy/Fire Inspection from the city where the school will be located
  • submit required Secretary of State documents if registering as an LLC
  • post a surety bond in the proper amount
  • possess Driver Training-approved textbooks and DPS handbooks for all classroom courses
  • possess five versions of the DPS permit test
  • possess currently-registered and inspected vehicles with instructor-side brakes and mirrors

Complete licensing information can be accessed from the "Additional Resources" section of this page.

Take the first step toward becoming licensed in Texas by purchasing the surety bond you need.

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert