Texas Notary Bond
Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 4 options below. Protect yourself from potential financial loss by including errors and omissions coverage with your bond.
Without Errors & Omissions
$10,000 Errors & Omissions
$20,000 Errors & Omissions
$30,000 Errors & Omissions
Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a $10,000 Texas notary public bond cost?
A $10,000 Texas notary public bond costs $50 and can be issued instantly 24/7. Errors and omissions coverage is also available in various amounts depending on the amount of coverage the notary feels is necessary. Including errors and omissions insurance with your bond ensures you are not held personally liable for mistakes made while notarizing documents.
How do I purchase a Texas notary bond?
To get a notary bond, select the errors and omissions option you would like. You'll need to provide your name, address, and county to buy your bond securely online in minutes. Once your payment is received, your official bond documents will be delivered to your email.
How fast can I get a notary public surety bond?
SuretyBonds.com offers instant Texas notary surety bond delivery 24/7. Purchase now and receive your official bond delivered in minutes by email.
What is a Texas notary bond?
By posting this bond, principals agree to abide by all laws, rules, and regulations stated in Chapter 406 of the Texas Government Code, Chapter 121 of the Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code and the Secretary of State's administrative rules found in Title 1, Chapter 87 of the Texas Administrative Code. The surety bond form includes sections for identifying information, qualification statements, the statement of officer, and execution.
Who needs Texas notary bonds?
The Texas Secretary of State requires notaries public to post Texas notary public bonds that remain in effect for four years and run concurrently with their notary commission.
Why do I need a Texas notary public bond?
The $10,000 surety bond amount protects the general public and the state from illegal acts performed by a notary in the course of their duty.
How do I file my Texas notary bond?
You will file your $10,000 Texas surety bond with the Secretary of State along with the rest of your notary public application documentation.
You can mail your Texas notary commission paperwork to:
Notary Public Unit
P.O Box 13375
Austin, TX 78711
Or, you can deliver your Texas notary commission documents in person at:
James Earl Rudder Office Building
Austin, Texas 78701
How do I become a notary public in Texas?
To be commissioned as a notary public in Texas, an applicant must be a Texas resident, be at least 18 years of age, and have a clean criminal record.
Applicants should submit the following materials to the Secretary of State:
- Completed Form 2301
- $10,000 surety bond documentation
- Filing fee ($21)
Once an applicant is commissioned, they can purchase the required notary seal and record book from any office supply company.
How do I become an online notary in Texas?
To become an online (remote) notary in Texas, applicants must first meet the eligibility requirements and complete the steps outlined above. After becoming a commissioned notary public in Texas, online notary applicants must:
- Obtain and electronically sign a digital certificate from a third-party provider. The Texas Secretary of State does not have a list of approved providers, so ensure the seal contains the words "Notary Public, State of Texas" around a star of five points, along with the notary public's name, identification number, and commission expiration date. A circular seal cannot be more than 2 inches in diameter and a rectangular version no more than 1 inch wide and 2.5 inches in length. Finally, the seal must have a serrated or milled edge border.
- Apply online through the Secretary of State's online electronic commissioning system and pay a $50 fee with a credit card. Applicants will need their digital certificate to complete the application process.
If an applicant does not receive a response within three business days of successfully submitting their application, the applicant should call 512-463-5705.