generic bond icon

Utah Motor Vehicle Defective Title Bond

Price Varies / 7 year term


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Utah motor vehicle defective title bond cost?

Utah motor vehicle defective title bond costs start at $100 for the state-required 7-year-term. Exact Utah title bond costs vary depending on the bond amount required by the Utah State Tax Commission.

  • Bond amounts up to $6,000 cost $100.
  • Bond amounts from $6,001 to $25,000 cost $15 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.
  • Bond amounts from $25,001 to $50,000 cost $15 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $375.
  • Bond amounts for more than $50,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $750.

How do you obtain a certificate of title bond in Utah?

You can buy a Utah certificate of title bond online 24/7. You must provide the following information for Division of Motor Vehicles approval.

  • name (as it appears on your Utah drivers license)
  • title type (defective title or insufficient ownership)
  • vehicle identification number (VIN) 
  • vehicle year, make, model, and body type

Once your payment is received, your official bond documents will be delivered to your email.

How fast can I get a Utah title bond? offers instant Utah title surety bond delivery 24/7. Purchase now to receive your official bond delivered in minutes by email.

*Note: If your bond amount is higher than $25,000, your purchase order will be reviewed by a team member before your documents are emailed.

Bond Type
$100-$6,000Motor Vehicle Defective Title Bond
$6,001-$25,000Motor Vehicle Defective Title Bond
$25,001-$50,000Motor Vehicle Defective Title Bond
$50,001-$1,000,000Motor Vehicle Defective Title Bond

What is a Utah motor vehicle defective title bond?

Utah State Tax Commission regulations require individuals without a title ownership certificate file a surety bond to register any vehicle valued at more than $3,000. In Utah form TC-824 is officially titled the "Insufficient Evidence of Ownership Bond (Surety Bond)," but they're more commonly known as a "certificate of title surety bond," "lost title bond," or "bonded title."

The defective title bond protects any person, firm, or corporation that might have legal vehicle ownership during a vehicle title transfer. If damages are suffered as a result of the title certificate issuance, the surety company will pay valid claims up the the full bond amount, which the bonded vehicle owner must then reimburse.  

Who registers vehicles in Utah?

The Utah Tax Commission Division of Motor Vehicles regulates vehicle registration in the state, including requirements for vehicles with missing titles. Your Utah certificate of title bond must be filed for vehicle registration within 30 days of issuance.

A Utah motor vehicle title bond is required if you have insufficient ownership documentation. If plan to sell vehicles, a separate Utah motor vehicle dealer bond is required.

How do I determine my bond amount?

As a bonded title applicant, the Utah State Tax Commission Division of Motor Vehicles will provide you with a letter confirming a surety bond is required for vehicle registration. The required bond amount will be calculated as 2 times the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) appraisal for vehicles valued over $3,000. If you need help determining your exact required bond amount, contact the Utah DMV before purchasing your bond.

How do I update my certificate of title bond form?

If the Utah Tax Commission requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety bond insurance company. If you purchased your bond from, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. 

The most common changes for these bonds include updating the vehicle owner’s name or vehicle information.

Do I need to renew my title bond?

Utah bonded titles do not renew. They remain valid for 7 years from the effective date.

How do you file for a lost title in Utah?

You'll need to submit the following to the state when filing for a Utah bonded title.

  1. Photos, preferably color, documenting all sides of the vehicle to show both inside and outside vehicle conditions
  2. Completed Ownership Statement (Form TC-569A)
  3. VIN inspection (not needed for vehicles with a Utah registration) 
  4. Bill of sale and/or release of ownership
  5. Completed and signed Application for Registration/Title (Form TC-656)
  6. Surety bond in the correct required amount

Documents can be emailed to [email protected] or mailed to the address below.

DMV/Miscellaneous Services
210 N. 1950 W
Salt Lake City, UT 84134

How can Utah residents avoid claims against your lost vehicle title bond?

To avoid claims made against lost vehicle title bonds, individuals should only seek a bonded title for vehicles purchased or otherwise acquired legally.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert