How much does a notary public bond cost in Utah?
Utah notary public bonds cost as little as $50 for four years and are issued instantly. Errors and omissions coverage is also available for additional premium. Including errors and omissions insurance with your bond ensures you are NOT held personally liable for mistakes made while notarizing documents. Visit our blog for more information on this essential coverage.
Simply click Buy Now to visit our secure bond checkout and purchase your bond online today. It only takes a few minutes to be on your way to being bonded as a notary in Utah.
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost|
|$5,000 Notary Bond No Errors & Omissions||$5,000||$50|
|$10,000 Notary Bond No Errors & Omissions (Remote)||$10,000||$100|
|$5,000 Notary Bond $10,000 Errors and Omissions||$5,000||$90|
|$10,000 Notary Bond $10,000 Errors and Omissions (Remote)||$10,000||$140|
|$5,000 Notary Bond $20,000 Errors and Omissions||$5,000||$110|
|$10,000 Notary Bond $20,000 Errors and Omissions (Remote)||$10,000||$160|
|$5,000 Notary Bond $30,000 Errors and Omissions||$5,000||$130|
|$10,000 Notary Bond $30,000 Errors and Omissions (Remote)||$10,000||$180|
Why do I need this bond?
Utah notaries must post $5,000 surety bonds with the Office of the Lieutenant Governor prior to operating within the state.
By posting a Utah notary bond, the notary public pledges to conduct all duties commissioned to him/her ethically and in accordance with the laws of the state. If the principal fails to adhere to the law and the terms of the surety bond, the bond protects harmed parties from financial loss up to the full bond amount.
What’s the fine print?
Utah notary bonds run continuously for four years from the effective date and must be renewed at the end of the term. A notary public signature is required on the bond form to acknowledge the agreement between the surety and the principal.
How to become a notary public in Utah
In addition to posting a surety bond, potential Utah notaries public must meet the following requirements before being commissioned:
- Minimum 18 years of age
- Resident of the United States and state of Utah
- Ability to read and write in English
- Submit application to Office of the Lieutenant Governor
- Receive endorsements by two residents of the state over the age of 18
- Pass examination