Utah Private Investigator Bond

Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.


1 year term



2 year term - save $25.00!



3 year term - save $50.00!

We offer 24/7 instant email delivery. Buy your bond now to get it within 6 minutes!


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Utah private investigator bond cost? 

The Utah private investigator bond costs $100 annually. You can save money by choosing our multi-year discount to extend your private investigator surety bond term during checkout!

How can I get a private investigator bond in Utah? 

You can purchase your Utah private investigator bond online 24/7. Simply select your preferred term and provide your individual licensee name for Department of Public Safety filing approval. Once your payment has been received, your official bond will be delivered to your email.

How fast can I get a private investigator surety bond?

SuretyBonds.com offers instant Utah private investigator bond delivery 24/7. Buy now to receive your official private investigator surety bond in minutes by email. 

Bond Type
$10,000Private Investigator BondRequired for registrant or apprentice license applicants

What is a Utah private investigative agency bond? 

Utah Code 53-9-110 requires individuals file a $10,000 surety bond amount when submitting their new or renewal private investigator license application. The state's form is titled the “State of Utah Private Investigator License Bond” but is commonly known as the “Utah private investigator bond." This bond is used to benefit any person injured by any acts of a private investigator or private investigator agency under the Utah Private Investigator Regulation Act. 

What does a private investigator bond protect against? 

The Utah private investigator bond protects those injured by private investigators or private investigator agencies who do not comply with state laws outlined in the Utah Private Investigator Regulation Act. If a claim is filed against your licensed investigator bond, your issuing surety company will pay valid claims up to your full $10,000 bond amount, which you must reimburse in full for failing to fulfill your professional duties as required by law. 

Who regulates licensing for private investigators?

The Utah Department of Public Safety Bureau of Criminal Investigation enforces license requirements for private investigators and private detectives working in the state. You can contact the Bureau of Criminal Identification by calling 1(801)965-4445.

The Utah Department of Public Safety requires this bond for state private investigator licensing. If you work as a private investigator or private detective in states other than Utah, we also offer private investigator bonds nationwide. 

How do I update or change my professional investigator bond form?

If the Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation requires your bond to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. The most common change requested is updating your individual licensee name on the bond to match your private investigation license. 

How do I renew my Utah licensed private investigator bond?

You must renew your Utah licensed private investigator bond before its current term expires. Once you pay your SuretyBonds.com renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be sent to keep your bond active for your next private investigation individual licensee term. 

Who can apply to get a private investigator license in Utah?

Before you can apply for your Utah private investigator license, you must be at least 21 years old and be of good moral character. If you meet these licensee qualifications, you'll need to complete the following steps to apply as a professional investigator. 

  1. Pay you nonrefundable application fee ($243.23 for an agency license or $143.25 for a registrant or apprentice license). 
  2. Provide a 2” x 2” color photo.
  3. Upload a copy of your driver’s license or another state approved ID.
  4. Submit fingerprint cards for a criminal background check.
  5. Purchase and file your Utah surety bond in the $10,000 required bond amount. 
  6. Agencies must purchase liability insurance in a minimum amount of $500,000.
  7. Complete required hours of experience: 2,000 for an individual and 5,000 for an agency. 
  8. Submit your completed Application for Private Investigator License (BCI-1523A-1110)

You'll need to personally file or mail your application and required documents to the Bureau of Criminal Identification at the following address. 

Bureau of Criminal Identification 
4315 South 2700 West
Ste 1300
Taylorsville, UT 84129

The Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation requests you allow 90 days for complete application processing and requests you do not call for status updates. 

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert